Honors Around the World!

Traveling is something that has always been important to me. I was fortunate enough to study abroad for a month in India the summer after my freshmen year. That was a great experience but in an entirely different way from my current semester abroad in Cannes, France. No matter where I go, I have discovered that Honors is still a big presence in my life. For example, my friend who I traveled to India with was someone that I met in my FHP section.

Being away for a whole semester this time allows me to notice more ways that the honors program impacts my life away from school. The biggest example took place during my long weekend in Florence, Italy. One evening I was getting gelato with my friends and as we walked into the shop I realized I recognized a girl waiting at the counter. It turns out that two girls that I know through the honors program were studying abroad in Italy and happened to be eating in the same gelateria!! I never expected something like that to happen!

As people have been mentioning blogs recently, we have to complete final capstone projects in order to graduate with honors. This semester abroad has really acted as an inspiration for me. I have come up with a few different ideas involving food and its importance in culture around the world. This whole concept stems from an honors seminar I took two semesters ago that was called “Cuisine and Culture: The History of Food and People”. I feel that both my study abroad experiences as well as my honors seminar all give me a lot of elements to draw from and I am getting really excited to start developing my actual plan.

I have discovered this semester that the Iowa State Honors Program does not only impact and benefit me when I am on campus. Everything it has taught me and the connections I have made are going to stay with me no matter where I go. I guess it truly is a small world after all!

Posted by Megan

Leave a Reply

