A House Above the Rest

On the first day I arrived at Iowa State my freshman year, the total amount of people I knew on campus amounted to zero. Zip. Nada. Nil.  On day two of my freshman year, I had what felt like a family of sixty other students.  Most first-year students don’t make friends quite that quickly in the residence halls, but then again, most first-year students don’t have the opportunity to live in an Honors House like I did.  What living in Honors Housing means is that I live on the same floor (5th Floor of Friley Hall, Lorch-Russell House) as approximately sixty other honors students!  The sense of community that exists within the Honors Program as a whole is amplified tenfold within my house.  When I come home after a long day of classes, meetings, and studying, I truly feel like I return to sixty brothers and sisters!  Another extremely valuable benefit of living on Lorch-Russell is that most of my floor mates are in the same classes as me, due to the fact that most of us are science related majors.  Asking for homework help or forming study groups couldn’t be easier!

Now we don’t just study all of the time here on Lorch-Russell (though it definitely feels like it some days).  It’s a floor tradition to have a floor dinner every evening at around 5:15, with about half of the floor attending on any given night!  We also hold house events such as a V for Vendetta party on the 5th of November, a trip to a pumpkin patch/corn maze, ultimate Frisbee games, a human chess match against another Honors floor, as well as numerous intramural teams!

In short, I don’t think I would be the same person I am today if not for a community that was so warm, welcoming, and supportive from the get-go.  I guess honors students are just awesome like that!

Posted by Nick T.

Leave a Reply

