Introducing SAVANNAH!

HELLO EVERYONE! As this is my first post, I’d like to introduce myself: I’m Savannah! I’m from Rochester, NY, I’m a sophomore in Biology, and I like to rollerblade for fun. I also really like live music, which is what I’ll be writing about today.

Anyone who says Ames doesn’t have a good music scene is clearly not looking. Aside from the bands that play at bars (which I’m not old enough to go to), and the major shows that come (Passion Pit is next!), and VEISHEA, there is also an on-campus music venue that is tragically underrated. The Maintenance Shop (or the M-Shop, for short) is a nook located in the downstairs of the Memorial Union, and has been there since 1974. Over the years, they’ve hosted people such as Muddy Waters, Pat Metheny, Arlo Guthrie, Jack Johnson, Smashing Pumpkins, Silversun Pickups, The Academy Is…, and OK GO. In the last year, I’ve seen Thompson Square, Good Old War, Freelance Whales, and Gregory Alan Iskov, to name a few. The venue is small enough that after every show you get to meet the band and talk to them. I even am followed by a couple on Twitter!

My favorite show I’ve been to was The Lumineers. You know the song “Ho Hey” you hear on the radio every five seconds? Last year, 6 days after their album was released, the band came right out into the middle of the small crowd and sang it to us in the most beautiful harmonies. Here’s a picture of me with them! I’m the red-head.

Savannah 2.18 blog post

Last semester I joined the M-Shop committee, where I help out at shows and with publicity. I’ve met so many talented musicians, and the committee is full of some of the coolest people I know. We sometimes stay late after the show is over, blasting music and having dance-parties with the bands.

So next time you’re looking for a unique date-night idea, a way to get away from studying, or just generally a inexpensive way to treat yourself, you know where to go. 🙂

– Posted by Savannah

Leave a Reply

