A Home in Honors

As I hear the sounds of the Campanile roll through my open dorm room window, I start reflecting on what will soon be in the books as the first half of my college education. I am thinking about the good times and the bad, the time spent having fun and the time spent working hard, and most prominently I am thinking about where I fit in at college. Iowa State is a big school. There is no getting around it. It’s not like high school where you can know every teacher and classmate. I came to Iowa State because it was a big school. The opportunities offered by an institution with the connections and leverage that a school of this size has are invaluable. Even so, the sheer number of people who come to school here can make an individual feel alone. But I know for a fact that you can always make Iowa State seem small; you just have to find where you fit in. I fit into Honors like the space shuttle fits into the Vehicle Assembly Building (I am an aerospace engineer). When college gets tough I always have friends from Honors to help me. When college is going great I have like-minded peers from Honors to celebrate with. Even when nothing interesting is happening there are Honors students who will do there best to ensure that there is never a dull moment. This post might seem vague and generic, but what I am trying to say is that I have met so many awesome people in Honors. I am trying to say that on a campus of over 30,000 students I can walk from class to class and always see people that I can say hello to because of Honors. You can always make Iowa State small. You just have to find a home; Honors is my home. Figuratively and literally, I have found a home at Iowa State. As I reflect on these past two years, one thought that runs through my mind is how awesome my next two years will be. Awesome because of Honors.

041518 Flannery picture

The men of Anders House (my home at ISU!) before our formal dinner

– Posted by Mike

Leave a Reply

