I’m a Cyclone

So, for some reason I found some old emails from an account that doesn’t even work anymore. I was really confused as to why I was looking at the five-year-old emails until I got to a particular one. Take a look:

040813 Elveru picture 1

The first line says, “Congratulations! You’re a Cyclone!” As I’m sitting in my apartment with my Cyclone fleece blanket keeping me warm, reading this two-and-a-half-year-old email almost made me tear up.

This email was only telling me that I was accepted to Iowa State. I hadn’t confirmed my admission or sent in a housing contract yet; I was still a confused high school senior.

All I can say now is how happy I am that I accepted my admission into Iowa State and how proud I am to call myself a Cyclone.

Everyday I find new reasons to fall in love with this campus. Here are a few:

  1. This place is absolutely beautiful. Whether it’s the vibrant fall leaves, perfect-looking snow scenes or gorgeous spring flowers, I’m always up for enjoying the scenery as I walk to class.
  1. FOOTBALL! Let me just say that I have never been a big football fan, but coming to Iowa State has definitely changed that. Football games are the best places to feel like you belong, and there’s nothing more exhilarating than getting an entire stadium to yell “CYCLONE POWER” back and forth to each other. If you have the chance, get to at least one game during your freshman year.
  1. The students and faculty are so incredibly friendly. I can truly say that any professor I have had is proud to be teaching at Iowa State and is willing to give any advice I ask for. I have also met some amazing friends here, and the Honors Program is full of driven (not to mention super fun) individuals.

Well, those are only three of many countless examples as to why I absolutely love Iowa State. Have a great week, and stay positive!

– Posted by Emily

Leave a Reply

