“¡Ay Chris!” Part 1

Chris Jacobs embarks on a harrowing journey to get to Spain, where he’s studying abroad this summer.  Follow along to see if/how he makes it there…

 

Greetings from (I wish) balmy Oviedo in Spain!  This summer I was fortunate enough to get accepted to a Chemical Engineering program in Spain!  I was so excited when I got the acceptance email, I imagined exploring Madrid, Barcelona, Valencia, or any of the large cities in Spain that everyone talks about.  Then I read through the email and saw…Oviedo, Spain.  My first thought was, where in the world is Oviedo?  Besides the obvious answer of it being in Spain, I pulled open my phone and Google’d Oviedo.  Oviedo is a medium-sized town in the region of Spain known as Asturias.  Asturias is in the north-northwest part of Spain.  The ocean looked close enough and I read that there were beautiful mountains, delicious wine and a prestigious Chemical Engineering program that started in the 1700’s.  I excitedly called my parents and told them the good news!  My parents helped me find a steal on a plane ticket to Madrid that left Minneapolis at noon on May 24th.  We booked the ticket and I couldn’t be more excited!

Chris blog 1

May 24th came way too fast for my liking.  Before I even knew it, I had to leave for the airport.  My parents dropped me off and left me there, with my 40lb backpack and computer bag and a rough idea of where I had to go.  I was absolutely terrified out of my shoes.  My first flight was easy enough, an overnight flight from Minneapolis to Amsterdam.  I was sitting in the front of economy class, so I had a little extra room, I was sitting next to the nicest elderly couple ever, AND I could watch The Hobbit on a screen in the chair in front of me.  Seven hours later I landed in Amsterdam, only slightly less terrified than I had been earlier.

Amsterdam was where everything started to go wrong…

* * *

What will happen to Chris in the Amsterdam airport?  Will he catch his flight to Madrid?  Will he wander off into the city, only to miss his flight and have to live in a Dutch canal?  Did he abandon his Spanish study-abroad dream after becoming trapped in a Dutch windmill?  Stay tuned for the next installment of “¡Ay Chris!”…

 

4 comments on ““¡Ay Chris!” Part 1

  1. sharon says:

    Can’t wait to read the rest of the story.

  2. […] Chris Jacobs embarks on a harrowing journey to get to Spain, where he’s studying abroad this summer.  Follow along to see if/how he makes it there… see part 1 here […]

  3. […] he’s studying abroad this summer.  Follow along to see if/how he makes it there…see part 1 here and part 2 […]

  4. […] he’s studying abroad this summer.  Follow along to see if/how he makes it there…see part 1 here, part 2 here, and part 3 […]

Leave a Reply

