Honors Summer Adventures: Amira’s Summer Internship is Cooler than Yours

Hey all! Amira here. A little background before I dive into my summer adventures. As a refresher, I am a junior studying Journalism and Mass Communication and my area of focus is public relations. If you read my blog post before you heard that I am pretty into music and during the school year I DJ at Iowa State’s radio station, 88.5 KURE.

In May, I moved back home to the Des Moines area and have been working on an internship for Katelyn Epperly, a singer-songwriter based out of Nashville.  I follow Katelyn on Twitter and in April she posted that she was looking for an artist management/social media intern this summer. This was perfect because it ties together my love of music and my public relations studies. I emailed her right away and after a few discussions with her manager, I got the job!

For those of you who may not have heard of her, you can listen to her music on iTunes and read more about her here: http://www.reverbnation.com/katelynepperly.  She was on the 9th season of American Idol and graduated three years ahead of me from Valley High School in West Des Moines. (Also, you should go follow her on Twitter and Instagram and like her Facebook page…)

I currently have been co-running on her social media accounts as well as working on booking her venues (which is something I never knew I would be interested in, either but is cool). She is great to work with and although I don’t live in Nashville, we are in pretty constant communication. It’s great to have a boss is who is young and I’m able to text whenever I have a question or something comes up. Plus, I am learning a lot! 😀

Although I love my work, it wouldn’t be summer without a TON of fun and adventures.

One of my favorite parts of every summer in Des Moines is the 80/35 music festival. For two days, Western Gateway Park in Des Moines is flooded with people and great live music. There are free stages to listen to local or lesser-known (but still awesome!) bands and then there is a paid area with a main stage that has housed big names like Spoon, Edward Sharpe and the Magnetic Zeroes, Slightly Stoopid and this year—The Wu-Tang Clan and David Byrne and St. Vincent. It’s always on a Friday night and then all day on Saturday. This year the festival happened to land on my birthday. So Friday night was even more special for me; what a great way to start a new decade of my life!

KhatibMe on my birthday

 

80/35 was sooo hot, but also worth it. I was able to keep cool by running up to my sister’s air-conditioned apartment which was located directly next to the festival and putting my feet in this little stream they have running through the park. (Which is pretty awesome until you see a band-aid floating down the stream…)

Anyway, if you are ever in Ames for the summer for Des Moines for an internship/future job, I highly suggest checking out the festival.

I’m excited for the new school year to start, but I’m definitely going to enjoy every moment of the rest of my summer. Hope to see you this fall!

Leave a Reply

