Surviving Thanksgiving Break

This post was written last week by Stephen Todey

It’s almost Thanksgiving Break!! Three quick weeks, then it’s Winter Break time!!

todey 1It’s almost time to celebrate finals being over!!!!!

You get to go home and see your family all the time! But really. All. The. Time. Now don’t get me wrong, I do enjoy spending time with my family. But coming home from college after my first semester, after being on my own for 16 weeks, I had a really hard time living at home again. I often felt like all the independence I had gained that first semester just disappeared when I walked through my front door. I’m not saying that this will happen to everyone, or that you will feel the same that I did, but if you do, here are some things I would suggest doing to make the transition home a little easier.

1. Find something to do that will get you out of the house. For me, it was running every day. Fortunately, it was a mild winter that year, but if it’s cold and miserable, something warmer might be a little more appealing. I would suggest volunteering somewhere: it will get you out of the house and you’ll feel good about yourself.

todey 2

2. Meet up with your high school friends. Generally, there are two types of feelings regarding high school friends. Either you miss them so much you’ll never find friends that good again omg I miss my friends so much. Or, you’re too cool for them. False. You’ll find good friends again. And you’re not too cool for your high school friends. Hang out with them over break.

todey 3

3. Make sure to find time to spend by yourself. When you’re spending all your time around your family and friends, it can be wearing. Be sure to find time to spend by yourself, you deserve it.

todey 4

4. Eat lots of food. The dining centers don’t compare to home cooked meals. Enjoy them while you can.

todey 5

Leave a Reply

