Animated Films are Happiness

by Katey Oswald

I just saw Disney’s Frozen this past weekend, and I loved it! I still and will probably for the next couple of weeks have the song “Let It Go” running though my head. While I was in the theater, I was surrounded by younger children and their parents, as well as a crop of college students just like my friends and myself. Many may think that animated movies are meant only for children to enjoy, but the creators of these movies know how to develop the plot and play towards the adult audience to make it enjoyable for all ages that view it. Also, I just have a nostalgia fix that I will forever need to tend to for the rest of my life.

Yes, I’m one of those 90’s kids who talks on and on about how great childhood was etc etc (Nintendo 64? Saturday Morning Cartoons? Dial-up Internet? Heck yeah). So of course I need to fall back on the animated movies and TV shows that taught me how to sing, be a princess, and love animals. I never grew out of my love for animated films, and I enjoy not only looking back to oldies-but-goodies, but also to the new ones being created now.

Oswald 2

Some of my favorite animated films? How to Train Your Dragon is a must watch especially if you own a pet, because the dragons act just like my cats and the similarities are just adorable. Howl’s Moving Castle is one of my all time favorites, a lesser-known movie originally from Japan by Hayao Miyazaki, who has also scripted and directed movies such as Spirited Away and Kiki’s Delivery Service.

Oswald 3

Of course I also have my favorites from Disney, such as Mulan, The Lion King, and Bambi. Anastasia (Fox animation) has some of the best music along with Spirit: Stallion of the Cimarron (Dreamworks), to which I have both soundtracks readily available on my iTunes account.

Oswald 1

I will never grow out of my affection for a good animated film, so bring on the Netflix binge-watching!

 

Leave a Reply

