Life Without A Laptop

by Lissa Villa

Like any self-respecting journalism/political science student, I was watching season two of “House of Cards” late Friday night when the worst thing that can happen to a college student occurred to me: my laptop froze. After several deep breaths, I restarted it. I thought it was going to be fine, but then my fears were confirmed. No matter what I did, everything froze. Saturday, I tried to ignore the fact that I had a problem. By Sunday, I could no longer deny it.

I took Wolowitz (yes, I named my Macbook Pro after a “Big Bang Theory” character) in to Best Buy, where my situation went even farther south, if that’s even possible. The Geek Squad guy told me Wolowitz’s hard drive was failing, and he needed to be sent in for laptop surgery.

“How long will this take?” I asked the Geek Squad dude.

“Two to four weeks.”

Let me put this in perspective for you. I was being asked to part from one of my appendages for up to a month in the middle of my most academically challenging semester yet. How was I supposed to write articles? How was I supposed to blog? How was I supposed to do my research? How was I supposed to Facebook? I didn’t have a choice. I let Wolowitz go with a gentle pat on the screen and returned to my dorm, only to be reminded of his absence immediately by his still-plugged-in charger. It was like seeing a leash but no dog.

And then I remembered I had bigger issues. Where the heck was I supposed to do my homework?

Thank goodness for Jischke. I packed my bag and made the short trek from Lyon Hall to the Honors building where I would have 24/7 access to a computer (one of the perks of being part of the program). Props to the students that live without a laptop. I’ve been at it less than five hours and have already had several emotional breakdowns. I’m just lucky I have Jischke to help me through this difficult time.

Until next time!

Leave a Reply

