Ambassador Showcase: Alexis

ISU Honors has a group of talented, crazy awesome students that serve as ambassadors for the program.  You should meet them!  First up is Alexis Coulter:
Coulter

The best thing about being the age you are right now (freshman/sophomore/junior/senior): I actually know how to be a real college student.  I like to think that as a Freshman and Sophomore I was just pretending like I knew how the whole college thing worked.  Now, in my second semester of my Junior year, I finally have a clue. In regard to actual school, I know basically every building on campus, how to manage my time well, I get more of choice with my classes, and have made so many study buddies over the past two years.  Besides actual school, I enjoy being a Junior because I now live in an apartment (yay for good food!), I know most of Ames (unlike a Freshman who only knows where Walmart/Target and Orange Leaf are located), and I have so many more friends!

Your favorite FHP memory: My favorite memory from FHP would probably be making our Honors 121 video project my Freshman year.  We had to shoot a “marriage scene” for our video and we ended up using toilet paper to make a dress for our bride and then showcased our lovely wedding in front of people walking around the Campanile.

Your favorite food served in the ISU dining centers: I love love love the cheesy potato rounds at Convos, the sopapillas at Seasons, and all of the desserts…everywhere. Especially the ice cream at Convos and Carmelita bars! You can just say I enjoy the unhealthiest food at the dining centers.

The best Honors event you’ve been to: AWKWARD PROM. End of story.

Your favorite Cyclone memory: I got to be a part of storming the football field when we beat Iowa!! Good day to be a Cyclone!

Describe one Honors course or seminar you’ve taken: Last semester I took the Honors seminar about how television and movies influence our ideas about what the college experience is like.  We analyzed many different areas of college that a show may stereotype and looked into what our ideas about college were before we came and how they are changing.  My favorite part of the class was getting to watch television shows and movies in class and discuss with other students the portrayal of college in each.

Your favorite place to get coffee/snacks on campus: I love getting snacks when the weather is nice in Lago and sit in the super cute courtyard to munch on my snacks.  When the weather isn’t nice, I enjoy getting smoothies from the MU!

One thing on your ISU bucket list: I have to, or rather NEED to, get an intramural shirt (preferably, a lime green one).

Your favorite napping spot on campus: I do not nap on campus. I am a good student that pays attention and does homework.  If I nap, it is in my bed.

The best thing about the Honors building: The whiteboards and portable chairs.  I loved getting to use the whiteboards to write out all my reactions and mechanisms for Organic Chemistry. The portable chairs are the most fun things ever.  Late at night instead of studying, my friends would race with them like Mario Karts.

Who is your boy??  Coach Paul Rhoads or Coach Fred Hoiberg? Paul. Rhoads. He is such a man.

The most meaningful thing you’ve been involved with/done at ISU: The most meaningful thing I’ve been involved with at ISU is Relay for Life.  It was one of the most rewarding and humbling experiences I have had at Iowa State. I loved every minute of it and was so impacted by the stories of survivors and from the family of loved ones.

Leave a Reply

