Ambassador Showcase: Jake

ISU Honors has a group of talented, crazy awesome students that serve as ambassadors for the program.  You should meet them!  Today’s ambassador is Jake Sporrer:Sporrer

The best thing about being the age you are right now (freshman/sophomore/junior/senior): I really enjoy being a sophomore because it allows me to be involved in both teaching, through FHP and TAing, and learning in my classes. Also, I’ve learned enough about college to have free time and do well.

Your favorite FHP memory: My favorite FHP memory is probably when we used a giant parachute meant for preschoolers as a fan in the basement of the girlscout camp to get an edge on our opponents and stay cool.

Your favorite food served in the ISU dining centers: I never had a meal plan, but I like the ice cream.

Your favorite Cyclone memory: My favorite Cyclone memory is probably doing standup comedy and tearing my pants off in front of all the important people. Surprises are pretty cool.

Describe one Honors course or seminar you’ve taken: I took the “Comedy College” seminar. We prepared and performed stand up comedy. It was pretty silly and fun. It was also cool to see some people that weren’t as comfortable with it succeed.

Your favorite place to get coffee/snacks on campus: My favorite place to get a snack on campus is to get Jeff’s Pizza from Material Advantage in Hoover.

One thing on your ISU “bucket list”: There is this perfect tree that looks exactly like a model shoot that Robert Downey Jr. shot on. My friends and I think it would be hilarious to make a mashup of me mimicking the pictures.

Sporrer 2…but just imagine it’s Jake

Your favorite napping spot on campus: I like to nap in class mostly. Jischke is pretty good for napping as well.

The best thing about the Honors building: The best thing about the honors building is the presence of smart people with crazy ideas. If you’re bored, just pose a “what if?” there and see what happens.

Who is your boy??  Coach Paul Rhoads or Coach Fred Hoiberg? I’m a Hoiberg fan. That flappy bird score is inhuman.

The most meaningful thing you’ve been involved with/done at ISU: The most meaningful thing I’ve done is probably FHP. I feel like my coleader and I really helped our students.

Leave a Reply

