Ambassador Showcase: Jill

ISU Honors has a group of talented, crazy awesome students that serve as ambassadors for the program.  You should meet them!  Next up is Jill Schomers:

Schomers

The best thing about being the age you are right now: I can navigate through Ames without relying on my map/GPS and I can avoid the outdoors during the winter because I know the halls of Iowa State.

Your favorite FHP memory: My favorite FHP memory was making our final project.  Our theme was “nerd culture” so we made a video of superheroes behind the scenes.  It was fun to see all of our quirky, nerdy personalities on film.

Your favorite food served in the ISU dining centers: Unlimited ice cream!  Throw in some PB and Oreos and I’m content.

Your favorite Cyclone memory: I wasn’t even a student at the time, but my favorite Cyclone memory was attending the OSU vs. ISU football game.  That game is unforgettable.

Describe one Honors course or seminar you’ve taken: Unfortunately, I haven’t been able to take a seminar yet, but I only hear great things!  The only Honors courses I have taken are Organic Chemistry I and Organic Chemistry II, so that’s super exciting…not.  But I did really enjoy being in the Honors sections because I knew several students in the class.  I was able to study with them which was very motivating and rewarding in the end.  The material of the class was more in depth which made the class much more interesting and easier to understand and pick up.

Your favorite place to get coffee/snacks on campus: Conversations!  Yes, I chose a dining center.  But come on people, unlimited food and unlimited coffee drinks, who can turn down an offer like that?

One thing on your ISU “bucket list”: Get Bubble Football to be an intramural sport.

Your favorite napping spot on campus: I’ve never fallen asleep on campus.  It’s for the better; my sleeping habits are not attractive.

The best thing about the Honors building: Playing hot lava in the lobby…can I admit to that?  Also, randomly finding ice cream in the freezer is always a bonus!  Great reward for the study marathons I partake in.

Who is your boy?? Coach Paul Rhoads or Coach Fred Hoiberg? Hoiberg!  The Mayor!  He’s calm, cool, and collected.

The most meaningful thing you’ve been involved with/done at ISU: Recently I attended the International Friendship Orientation where I was paired up with an international student and got to talk to them and start a friendship.  A group of friends, both American and international, and I ended up going to the MU and playing ping pong and pool.  It was really cool to see that international students are just like us and like to hang out and have fun!  I look forward to continuing to see them throughout the semester!

Leave a Reply

