Ambassador Showcase: Sarah

ISU Honors has a group of talented, crazy awesome students that serve as ambassadors for the program.  You should meet them!  This week’s ambassador is Sarah van Tol:

van Tol

The best thing about being the age you are right now (senior): The best thing about being a senior is being able to take the fun, exciting classes in my major like immunology, pathology, and parasitology.

Your favorite FHP memory: playing quidditch on central campus

Your favorite food served in the ISU dining centers: I haven’t eaten in one since freshman year… I think I liked their chicken sandwiches though

The best Honors event you’ve been to: The Alumni poster presentation during VEISHEA 2013 was pretty fantastic!

Your favorite Cyclone memory: VEISHEA 2013 weekend

Describe one Honors course or seminar you’ve taken: My Honors capstone was a fantastic experience. I did a study, as an intern with the Palm Beach Zoo, of red-ruffed lemurs to evaluate effect of introducing hanging feeders on their feeding posture repertoire and activity levels. Essentially I had the privilege of observing six lemurs for 6 weeks then compiled and analyzed my data for the paper and poster components.

Your favorite place to get coffee/snacks on campus: Caribou (they have excellent strawberry-banana smoothies)

One thing on your ISU “bucket list”: Go to a Cyclone men’s basketball game [this was a fantastic year to cross that off a bucket list!]

Your favorite napping spot on campus: I don’t take naps, but my favorite place on campus… when it’s warm enough to be outside… is here:

Van Tol

The best thing about the Honors building:  I’m always productive when I work in Jischke

Who is your boy?? Coach Paul Rhoads or Coach Fred Hoiberg? I love Coach Rhoads!

The most meaningful thing you’ve been involved with/done at ISU:  I’ve been able to figure out my strengths and weaknesses which helps me develop as a person not just as a student.

Leave a Reply

