Movies I’m Excited for in 2014

by Lizzy Doebel

Now that finals week is over, you have (legitimate) time to watch movies!  Note: Lizzy wrote this post back in March, so some of these movies have already come out.

5. Maleficent (May 30th) – My favorite Disney movie of all time is coming out with real actors; how can I not be excited!? I’m not sure if I’ll like Elle Fanning as Sleeping Beauty, but Angelina Jolie looks like she’ll do a nice job as Maleficent. Fun fact: All the actors and actresses were partly chosen to be in the movie based on their uncanny resemblances and/or likeness to their respective character counterparts in Disney’s Sleeping Beauty.Doebel maleficent

4. The Amazing Spider-Man 2 (May 2nd) – Personally I like Andrew Garfield as Peter Parker over Tobey Maguire. I thought the first movie, The Amazing Spider-Man, had a great balance of comedy, romance, and adventure. This looks to be just as good, if not better. Did you know that the dog Gwen walks while Peter is spying on her from a rooftop, actually belongs to Andrew Garfield and Emma Stone?Doebel spider man

3. Noah (March 28th) – Who doesn’t love a good Bible story adapted into a movie? Especially when it stars Russell Crowe, Emma Watson, Logan Lerman, and Jennifer Connelly! I heard that Christian groups made sure they included in the content of the movie that it is based off the story in the Bible and does not actually depict the true story. It looks to be pretty epic!

Doebel noah

2. X-Men: Days of Future Past (May 23rd) – I’m a fan of X-men, mostly because of Hugh Jackman. Their most recent movies, First Class and The Wolverine, grabbed my attention and caused me to watch their earlier counterparts. Fun fact: The original ‘Days of Future past’ comic mentioned time travel from the year 2013, the same year in which filming began.

Doebel xmen

1. The Hunger Games: Mockingjay-Part 1 (November 21st) – So though this was not my favorite of the three books, I’m still excited to see it on the big screen. I’m especially looking forward to how Peeta is portrayed and what District 13 looks like. I probably will hate that I have to wait another whole year for the second part, but at least I already know how it ends. Did you know Philip Seymour Hoffman, who plays Plutarch Heavensbee, tragically died with one week of filming left?

Doebel mockingjay

 

 

Leave a Reply

