Ambassador Showcase: Augustine

ISU Honors has a group of talented, crazy awesome students that serve as ambassadors for the program.  You should meet them!  Today, it’s Augustine Villa:

Villa

The best thing about being the age you are right now (junior): The best thing about being a Junior is that I have experience at ISU, so I know what is fun and lots of the cool tricks/secrets, but I still have 2 years left here so I don’t have to think about working full time yet!

Your favorite FHP memory: My favorite FHP memory is cooking cultural foods with my section H3. Some of us made empanadas and fried plantains, some made gingerbread cookies, and some made something they called hummus but no one would even try due to appearance and smell.

Your favorite food served in the ISU dining centers: My favorite food in the dining centers is definitely the specialty coffees available at Conversations. It’s just nice to have the option of a quadruple espresso latte if you want/need it.

The best Honors event you’ve been to: THE FHP RETREAT! Of course. I’m surprised this was even a question.

Describe one Honors course or seminar you’ve taken: I took one in the fall of 2012 about the American political system and electoral process. It was awesome, we debated many topics in a very reasonable manner and I gained a lot of understanding of people’s reasoning for their political stances.

Your favorite place to get coffee/snacks on campus: The C-Store, convenient, and no line like the Hub.

One thing on your ISU “bucket list”: Find a secret place on campus that very few people know about where I can hang out and make it into my “batcave.”

Your favorite napping spot on campus: Most common would be the Physics lecture hall, but never on purpose.

The best thing about the Honors building: The people upstairs, they make ISU Honors what it is.

Who is your boy?? Coach Paul Rhoads or Coach Fred Hoiberg? Hoiberg, all the way. Actually ate a formal dinner with him and his wife at the Knoll last year.

The most meaningful thing you’ve been involved with/done at ISU: I would say in general leadership development through the Honors program, Engineering Student Council, and mentoring opportunities. I have seen it pay dividends to myself and others already and am excited to see how it will allow me to help people even more in the future.

Leave a Reply

