First Days as a Cyclone, 2014 Edition

We asked First-Year Honors Program students to tell us a little about their first official week as Iowa State students…here’s what they said!
(Remember 2014?)

 

sunsetI had a beautiful view from my dorm the other night, Cyclone country is quite beautiful! 🙂

Carissa P., Animal Science, Section E2

I had a wonderful time at the FHP kickoff. I thought it was wonderful to be able to meet new freshman in honors, and our leaders. The first few days of classes were great, I had a chance to meet new professors, make new friends, and last use the awesome facilities at Jischke. I am grateful to be a part of the FHP, and will relish the memories from these past few days.

Anshuman D., Engineering, Section D3

Thanks to Honors my transition to Iowa State has been a breeze. Almost every class I attend includes someone I know from my FHP group, making classes much more enjoyable and easier since I immediately had a friend I could sit by or study with. Honors has provided a strong foundation for my adventure at Iowa State, one that I know I can count on for semesters to come. (Also the Hickory Park was awesome!)

Jonathan P., Materials Engineering, Section D2

Well, my first week as a Cyclone has been quite interesting. Aside from being so sleep deprived that I spent what felt like five minutes (but was probably actually only 30 seconds) pushing on a door, only to figure out it was a pull door, it has been eventful! I must say, my favorite part of the day is hearing the campanile playing some modern song; however, I believe my entire week here at Iowa State can be summed up perfectly in one picture… 🙂

IMG_1450Sara A., Animal Science, Section C1

Honors kickoff was tons of fun! It was great meeting my group and getting to know them and the Hickory Park was delicious! The games we played really showed our competitive side, and helped us all work together as a team! It was overall amazing!

Kara K., Pre-Architecture, Section D3

I am so looking forward to Kelsey Timmerman’s lecture.  Though the first week at Iowa State has been incredibly intense–from classes to homework to transportation to hundreds of new faces and activities to applications and more–it was important to have read Mr. Timmerman’s book, to discuss it within our Honors Seminars, and to be reminded that the world is much bigger than the first week of college.  It has made me think about what I will learn in the next four years and how I will apply that knowledge to my life and those around me.  And, I’m looking forward to the first semester in Honors!  Already in the first week, we’ve had Hickory Park and engaging conversations, animal crackers and wonderful stories about the Honors Retreat.  It’s gonna be good!

Vivian C., World Languages and Cultures, Section A2

The first week of school here at ISU has been an interesting challenge. Although I walked to all my classes in advance, highlighted the map, and kept a copy of my schedule, I still found myself taking the wrong paths, and not recognizing buildings. Luckily, everyone at ISU was/is friendly and helpful. Attending the FHP kickoff was a great way to help find others similar to me. We all discussed the best ways to get to classes, where to eat, and most importantly, how to keep our rooms without air conditioning cold! For me, that’s a box fan, a loft fan, a large oscillating fan, and a small personal desk fan running non-stop. Trust me, they are all necessary! Aside from all the wonderful people that I am meeting, there is one thing that stands out- the noon campanile concert! I always try to be on central campus for this special tradition.

Jennifer B., Biology, Section G2

Other than my roommate and I getting stuck in the elevator for 30 minutes, my first week at Iowa State has been swell! Lesson learned: TAKE THE STAIRS!

elevator probsCaption: “elevator probs”

Briana S., Mechanical Engineering, Section J1

7 comments on “First Days as a Cyclone, 2014 Edition

  1. […] shared some FHP students’ reflections on their first weeks as Cyclones here.  Our seniors have a lot of feelings too!  What is it like for them to start the end of their […]

  2. […] shared some FHP students’ reflections on their first weeks as Cyclones here.  Our seniors have a lot of feelings too!  What is it like for them to start the end of their […]

  3. […] It’s the end of the semester!  We asked FHP students how their first semesters were, and we received some great submissions.  You might remember some of these students’ thoughts at the beginning of the semester here. […]

  4. […] official week as Iowa State students…here’s what they said! Here’s what they said in 2014 and 2013, […]

  5. […] State students…here’s what they said! Here is part one of the 2015 responses (and the ones from 2014 and 2013, […]

  6. […] week as Iowa State students…here’s what they said! Here’s what they said in 2015, 2014 and 2013, […]

  7. […] from the FHP Kickoff the night before class started)! Here’s what they said in 2016, 2015, 2014 and 2013, […]

Leave a Reply

