Ambassador Showcase: Andy

ISU Honors has a group of talented, crazy awesome students that serve as ambassadors for the program.  You should meet them!  Today, it’s Andy Fogerty:

023

The best thing about being the age you are right now (a junior): I finally moved off campus and into an apartment this year, and I love it! I wasn’t sure about the commute I’d have to make to campus every day, but the buses run so often out here that it’s no problem at all. Plus, it’s nice to have my own kitchen where I can cook whatever I want whenever I want it.

Your favorite FHP memory: Last year my group went to go tour the steam tunnels. It was a fantastic experience and we were really lucky to get to go. Anyone who gets the chance to see them should take it.

Your favorite food served in the ISU dining centers: The lasagna has to be my favorite. Whenever it’s available, I get it. Pasta is my favorite food anyway, but there’s something about lasagna that makes it stand out even more.

The best Honors event you’ve been to: I really enjoyed Awkward Prom in 2013. It was one of the only Honors events I went to last year, but it was so much fun. It’s actually part of the reason I chose to run for HSB the past two years.

Your favorite Cyclone memory: One of the first nights I was here, some of the sophomores from Lorch-Russell took all the freshmen out to play some games. At one point, we ended up playing sardines in the dark in the grassy area in front of the library. One round, I was the second person to find the guy who hid, and then no one else found us for almost 15 minutes. I barely knew the people I was sitting next to, but it was still tons of fun.

Describe one Honors course or seminar you’ve taken: Last semester, I took the Harry Potter Honors Seminar. It’s really interesting because we’re really good about not talking about what’s on the schedule for that day. Our instructor, Dr. Susan Yager, would barely even mention a topic and we’d go into a discussion for nearly the entire class about it.

Your favorite place to get coffee/snacks on campus: Caribou Coffee at the Hub. I have been meeting friends there for coffee on Fridays for almost my entire time at ISU, and I have so many great memories of the place already.

One thing on your ISU “bucket list”: Go to a football game where we actually win…

Your favorite napping spot on campus: I’m not much of a napping person. But I have been spending a lot of time in the library recently, so I’m sure I’ll fall asleep there at some point this semester. It’s just so quiet!

The best thing about the Honors building: Only Honors students ever go there! With so few people around (even now, with the FHP seminar going on), it’s usually pretty quiet there. This makes it a great place to go to sit and look over homework, or just relax.

Who is your boy?? Coach Paul Rhoads or Coach Fred Hoiberg? MAYOR HOIBERG!!!

The most meaningful thing you’ve been involved with/done at ISU: HSB. I got involved with HSB at first last year as the Lorch-Russell House Rep, and I enjoyed it so much I chose to run for Intramural Chair this year. It keeps me involved with Honors and helps me make an impact on the program through the events we plan.

Leave a Reply

