Ambassador Showcase: Katey

ISU Honors has a group of talented, crazy awesome students that serve as ambassadors for the program.  You should meet them!  Today, it’s Katey Oswald:

Oswald

The best thing about being the age you are right now (a senior): being in the final year, you aim to have the best experiences with your friends and make the most of all of your “lasts” at Iowa State

Your favorite FHP memory: going to the Retreat and bonding with my group

Your favorite food served in the ISU dining centers: make your own yogurt parfaits at breakfast: yogurt, granola, raisins, and pecans

The best Honors event you’ve been to: free ice skating at the ISU Ice Arena, hadn’t skated in years and my friend and I looked ridiculous, but we had a ton of fun!

Your favorite Cyclone memory: just doing fun events with my friends, like VEISHEA week and attending football games

Describe one Honors course or seminar you’ve taken: Engl 250H – I was with a few peers who were in my 121 seminar, and our professor had us focus on the theme of the environment. The class taught me a lot on writing and introduced me to the higher difficulty of college courses compared to high school, and how our writing is really looked at and graded. It was also really fun, and it was in this class I learned the term some Iowans use for squirrels: squinnies.

Your favorite place to get coffee/snacks on campus: Caribou Coffee of course! (it helps that I work there 🙂 )

One thing on your ISU “bucket list”: attend an ISU basketball game and eat all my favorite Ames foods before I leave!

Your favorite napping spot on campus: Parks Library, with it being so warm, quiet, and having a large variety of nooks and crannies to situate myself

The best thing about the Honors building: the super comfy chairs in the lounge area

Who is your boy?? Coach Paul Rhoads or Coach Fred Hoiberg? can’t they both be my boys?

The most meaningful thing you’ve been involved with/done at ISU: taking part in design research with Debra Satterfield’s Design Research group, from topics ranging from package design and children’s decision making, autism and art expression, and working in design camps with middle school students

Leave a Reply

