Ambassador Showcase: Emily

ISU Honors has a group of talented, crazy awesome students that serve as ambassadors for the program.  You should meet them!  Today, it’s Emily Elveru:

ElveruThe best thing about being the age you are right now (a senior): The best thing about being a senior is knowing my life soon won’t revolve around homework, tests and quizzes!

Your favorite FHP memory: Waiting in line for a snack at the retreat and my leader taught my group this ridiculous song about Taco Bell. I don’t remember the words anymore, but I remember how all of us were uncontrollably laughing.

Your favorite food served in the ISU dining centers: When I lived in the dorms, I would always get the make-your-omelette whenever it was offered. Another great thing about ISU Dining is they have to-go boxes, so it’s easy to grab some food and go back to your dorm to watch those Saturday morning cartoons!

The best Honors event you’ve been to: My favorite event was going to Midnight Ice Skating with my FHP group. We went to Jeff’s Pizza before skating, and I got to know my group members a lot more.

Your favorite Cyclone memory: Seeing President Obama speak on Central Campus my sophomore year.

Describe one Honors course or seminar you’ve taken: My favorite Honors seminar was called the Paper Bag Princess, and it focused on children’s literature. The next semester, I turned an actual children’s literature course into an Honors course and was able to meet one-on-one with my professor a couple times throughout the semester. To combine my journalism major and this class together, I created a mini magazine about the concepts learned throughout the semester for my final project. This entire experience prompted me to add a Child, Adult and Family Studies minor and have the goal to someday work for a parenting magazine.

Your favorite place to get coffee/snacks on campus: Caribou, of course! Turtle mocha, please!

One thing on your ISU “bucket list”: Win Bingo at ISU After Dark.

Your favorite napping spot on campus: Central Campus in the soft green grass on a warm and sunny day.

The best thing about the Honors building: It has the most luxurious bathrooms on campus… But actually my favorite thing about Jischke is always seeing someone I know when I walk into the building.

Who is your boy?? Coach Paul Rhoads or Coach Fred Hoiberg? Hoiberg! I’ve met him and have photographic proof! 🙂

The most meaningful thing you’ve been involved with/done at ISU: This one time, I picked up a lot of trash from the Skunk River.

Leave a Reply

