Honors Summer Snapshots: Krista

Ever wonder what Honors students do during the summer? Instead of doing “traditional” blog posts this summer, Honors Ambassadors and students will be taking you into their summer routines via photos. Check out Krista’s time as an International First Year Experience (IFYE) Coordinator:

Klocke 1

I am one of the new International First Year Experience (IFYE) Coordinators this year, so during the second week of June, I got to help out with orientation.

 

Klocke 2

I start out my days with some fresh fruit and either coffee or tea. I’ve discovered that coffee sweetened with honey and flavored with cinnamon is really awesome. I would highly recommend it.

 

Klocke 3

This fall we’ll be having a few hundred international students go through orientation, but this last week, we only had 14 sign up – it was a nice small group! I got to help hand out freshman swag in the morning.

 

Klocke 4

One of my awesome co-workers, Hannah Darr, was my student in FHP when I was a leader three years ago. Together again!

 

Klocke 5

I helped all the students enter their information into the system. It was a fun new experience to be their IT support. I really enjoyed getting to meet all the new students and talk to them while they waited.

 

Klocke 6

All the IFYE leaders and new students had the MU Underground to ourselves for an evening of bowling and table tennis. It seems that the bowling class I took at ISU last spring didn’t have a lasting effect…I did, however, redeem my gutter balls with a strike.

 

Klocke 7

I’m also working on research and preparing my graduate school application this summer. Since that is not always the most fun, I take breaks to spend time with my dog Missy, and read. I’m currently re-reading “Far From the Madding Crowd” by Thomas Hardy, and reading “War and Peace” by Tolstoy.

 

Klocke 8

I’m also taking the time to do some baking this summer. My first project was making Salty Honey Pie, and it was a success!

One comment on “Honors Summer Snapshots: Krista

  1. Esther Albrecht says:

    Krista, everything is so SUPER!!!! I just enjoyed it all so MUCH-Love YOU, Grandma

Leave a Reply

