Honors Summer Snapshots: Sydney

Ever wonder what Honors students do during the summer? Instead of doing “traditional” blog posts this summer, Honors Ambassadors and students will be taking you into their summer routines via photos. Sydney Hill demonstrates that scrubs=pajamas, kale actually tastes good, and that living in the Towers her freshman year turned out alright:

Hill 1

This summer I am working in my hometown of Omaha, NE as a veterinary assistant and an animal care attendant. Here’s a lovely selfie with my cool t-shirt from our open house to celebrate our 50th anniversary.

 

Hill 2

To help get ready for the open house, a co-worker and I spray painted paw prints onto walls. In the process, I ended up with rainbow hands, which means I just had to take a sratty picture throwing what I know. I wear scrubs to work everyday, which is pretty awesome since they’re basically pajamas.

 

Hill 3

A typical working day consists of waking up early, working an 11 or 12 hour shift, making dinner, and going to bed. I know… super exciting. So instead, I’m just going to tell you about a few of the other fun things I’ve done this summer. Here I am with usual work lunch (salad because I’m still making up for that entire bag of salt and vinegar chips I stress ate the first day of finals), and 30 Rock. Notice the lovely deer head my dad decided to decorate the house with.

 

Hill 4

Speaking of salad, this summer my mom and I planted a garden in these nifty raised beds and now we have fresh lettuce and kale. We planted a lot of different veggies and it’s been fun to see what pops up that we can use in our salads.

 

Hill 5

Here’s my brother’s dog, Bubba, ready to take over for Hoiberg. 😥

 

Hill 6

This is what greets me at night when I come home a little too late. They’re like mom and dad saying “Where have you been missy?”

 

Hill 7

I had the opportunity to see the Plain White T’s and Rob Thomas in Council Bluffs with one of my best friends. There’s a really cool outdoor concert arena there.

 

Hill 8

Right now I am visiting one of my very best friends since freshman year in the Towers. She lives in the country with a ton of kitties, so obviously I’m in heaven. This is Violet with her kitten Gizmo. I know. My heart just melted too. As much as I love summer and hanging out with all the animals, I’m ready to head back to my second home in Ames.

Leave a Reply

