Honors Summer Snapshots: Truman

Ever wonder what Honors students do during the summer? Instead of doing “traditional” blog posts this summer, Honors Ambassadors and students will be taking you into their summer routines via photos. Truman Brady has been nice enough to give you a super-sized post/behind the scenes look at his job at the Chicago Botanic Garden:

Brady 1

Hi! I work at the Chicago Botanic Garden, which basically means that I spend my days working with beautiful plants and frolicking in a world of wonder.

 

Brady 2

First thing in the morning I make my lunch, which usually consists of two PB&Js, two apples, and two granola bars. This day I had some pears available.

 

Brady 3

It takes me 45 minutes to get to the garden, so I have to make sure I plan my clothes accordingly. On any given day it can be raining,

 

Brady 4

…overcast…

 

Brady 5

…foggy…

 

Brady 6

…or bright and sunny!

 

Brady 7

I got lucky today, because the garden is full of sunshine.

 

Brady 8

Within the CBG, I work in the English Walled Garden, one of the the best gardens around.

 

Brady 9

Brady 10

Even on days when I have to water, it’s a great time.

Brady 11

Brady 12

Some days on break I go look at the Bonsai trees,

 

Brady 13

…but today is payday, so the horticulturists are meeting for brunch in the cafe.

 

Brady 14

Today we have to move some plants for a rare plant auction.

 

Brady 15

We came across some spittle bugs, so we had to take them out.

 

Brady 16

Spittle bugs aren’t the only creatures we come across though. Production found these mourning dove chicks hiding in some ferns, and grasshoppers abound.

 

Brady 17

 

Brady 18

One of our horticulturists is leaving after today, so we went out to lunch. We don’t always go out, but we wanted to do something nice.

 

Brady 19

The pizza is delicious.

 

Brady 21

After work, which lasts from 6 A.M. until 2:30 P.M., I usually go straight home and read or play bass. However because today is the last Friday of the month, I’m meeting some friends downtown for critical mass. Critical mass involves hundreds of cyclists biking around the city and taking over the road. I try to do it every month through the summer, because it’s a riot.

 

Brady 22

That’s a day in the life for me as an avid biker and Chicago Botanic Garden employee. I hope it’s been as cool to see as it’s been to live!

Leave a Reply

