Honors Summer Snapshots: Morgan

Ever wonder what Honors students do during the summer? Instead of doing “traditional” blog posts this summer, Honors Ambassadors and students will be taking you into their summer routines via photos. Morgan Hassebroek has been trapped under files, softball games, and haze from Canadian forest fires this summer:

Hassebroek 1

This summer, to help make some money, my dad decided to give me a job at his insurance company. Little did I know, my job would consist of sorting through many, many, many piles of old files just like this one. Making money, check. Giving myself numerous paper cuts in the process, double check.

 

Hassebroek 2

So far, this has been what my summer nights have consisted of, watching my brother and sister play baseball and softball. This is my sister’s first regional softball game. Win or go home. As you can see, my family sits in our truck right outside the outfield. I usually find out after the game that my family is pretty amusing to the softball girls in the dugout across the way.

 

Hassebroek 5

This is the kind of thing they laugh at. My brother, trying to be cool in his sideways hat… He didn’t think I would put this picture on my honors snapshot, so FUTURE HONORS STUDENT, RIGHT HERE FOLKS!!!

 

Hassebroek 4

Thank goodness, my sister’s team pulled off a win. Now I get to go watch more softball Wednesday an hour and a half away in Rockford. I can feel my summer slipping away…

 

Hassebroek 3

Lastly, I noticed a haze fall over the town yesterday when I left work. If you guys are from Southern Iowa or farther south than that, you may not know that this haze is the smoke from the Northern Canadian forest fires! If you’re from Northwest Iowa, unfortunately, you know exactly what I’m talking about… The smell is horrible and it’s hard to breathe, but it’s amazing how the world’s weather works! How smoke from way up in Northern Canada could trickle down to Iowa with still so much intensity!

Leave a Reply

