Honors Summer Snapshots: Traer

Ever wonder what Honors students do during the summer? Instead of doing “traditional” blog posts this summer, Honors Ambassadors and students will be taking you into their summer routines via photos. Traer Schon submitted these while humblebragging about meeting Harrison Barnes (“Here is my photo blog! It’s not all that exciting… maybe I should have done it tomorrow, when I’ll be taking photos at the Harrison Barnes Basketball camp? Just thought I’d slip that in there.”):

Schon 1

This summer I’m the communications intern at the Hy-Vee corporate office in West Des Moines. I write stories and press releases, take photos, make videos, proofread various things, and play the harp at formal company events. One of those may not be true.

 

Schon 2

Attached to the Hy-Vee Corporate Office is the Hy-Vee Conference Center—or was the Hy-Vee Conference Center. It was recently torn down to make room for… itself. A bigger version of the Conference Center will be completed in March. I walk by it on the days I’m not lucky/early enough to get a close parking spot (most days).

 

Schon 3

This is the main atrium, right outside of the communications department office. The fountains look great and give the office a very fancy ambience—however I think that they have, uh, inspired(?) me to take more frequent trips to the bathroom.

 

Schon 4

This is my desk! I’ve got a great view, and I think it’s fairly obvious that I’m really into decorating things. I’ve spent a good chunk of my summer so far working here, slouched over and slowly ruining my posture.

 

Schon 5

Working for Hy-Vee definitely has its perks. DISCLAIMER: I don’t like spending money, so I don’t actually eat in the cafeteria that often. I thought this delicious meal would make my internship look cool and balance out the boring desk photo.

 

Schon 6

This has become my catchphrase.

 

Schon 7

After work, I went to an open mic and did stand up. I’d like to say stand up is one of my hobbies, but in reality my hobby is mostly thinking about how I’d like to do more stand up. Still, it’s a great outlet for me to talk about important issues, such as public restrooms and odd Facebook posts.

 

Schon 8

After the open mic, I spent the rest of the evening with Kimmy Schmidt. I recently got with the times and got Netflix, so I’d say it’s been a productive summer. All of the options are sort of overwhelming to me, but so far it’s been pretty great…although there’s no guarantee I won’t cancel my subscription after the free 30-day trial. (See: meal photo caption)

 

Schon 9

After a long day, it’s time for bed. I only have a few weeks left of my internship, and I still haven’t quite shifted over from my college schedule… good thing there’s free coffee at work!

Leave a Reply

