Honors Summer Snapshots: Emily

Ever wonder what Honors students do during the summer? Instead of doing “traditional” blog posts this summer, Honors Ambassadors and students will be taking you into their summer routines via photos. Honors Ambassador and confirmed Gryffindor Emily Drummy is interning at a luxury residential design firm in Florida this summer:

Drummy 1

This summer I’ve had the opportunity to intern at Collins & DuPont Design Group in Southwest Florida. They are one of the largest, most well-known residential interior design firms in the state. Here’s my office, complete with plenty of tropical palm trees.

 

Drummy 2

There isn’t really a typical day for me. Sometimes I work on drawings, while other days I sit in on client meetings, select fabrics and finishes or visit the construction sites. Here’s my little desk, with all of its organized chaos. I’ve found I’m not the only designer whose work station looks like this.

 

Drummy 3

Typical libraries are full of books. This is also true here, but the books are filled with fabrics. Our resource library is where we pull all of our fabrics and finishes from to present to our clients. This is only a small portion of the firm’s huge resource library. It took me most of the summer to figure out where everything is.

 

Drummy 4

Here’s a drawing I was working on for one of our client’s vacation condos. Most clients here are “Snow Birds,” meaning that they fly south for the winter. Their main homes are located up North but they live in condos, homes and mansions down here during the winter.

 

Drummy 5

Did I mention the firm specializes in luxury residential design? This bathroom at one of our client’s homes was larger than most two bedroom apartments in Ames. Some clients also spend as much money on things like draperies and bedding as I pay for out of state tuition each year. It’s been a little hard to wrap my head around.

 

Drummy 6

As a true Harry Potter fan (and Gryffindor according to Pottermore), I couldn’t spend a summer in the sunshine state without visiting the Wizarding World of Harry Potter. This technically breaks the whole “day in the life of” blog thing, but I couldn’t resist.

 

Drummy 7

Since it’s off season in Florida right now, it rains every single day right around 4 pm. The cool thing about Florida rain, though, is that it can still be super sunny while it rains and the rain only lasts a few minutes. This can make the skies look pretty cool.

 

Drummy 8

Most evenings I try to head to the beach to catch the sunset, since it’s only a 5 minute drive. Though I’m partial to the Midwestern sunsets, they’re pretty darn beautiful over the Gulf too.

Leave a Reply

