Honors Summer Snapshots: Kelsey

Ever wonder what Honors students do during the summer? Instead of doing “traditional” blog posts this summer, Honors Ambassadors and students will be taking you into their summer routines via photos. Kelsey Granneman is in London this summer, and this particular day featured a boat and the River Thames:

Hello! I’m in London! I’m studying abroad at Middlesex University in northern London. I have been here for about a month now, and it’s been so wonderful.  Objects in pictures may be cooler than they appear.

Granneman 1

This is the main building for Middlesex University in London. I didn’t have to go in it today because I didn’t have class, so this is just a picture taken from the kitchen window. #winning

 

Granneman 2

Today, like most days, I’m making pizza in an oven that I don’t fully understand how to use because I didn’t read the directions. British appliances are just different enough to make you question your intelligence.

 

Granneman 3

I usually take my lunch to the den and watch TV. England shows a surprising amount of American TV shows, but obviously we chose American Pickers (Iowa represent!).

 

Granneman 4

My university invited us to a boat party this particular evening where we floated down the River Thames to see London at night. They served us dinner on the boat but I forgot to take a picture of it because I was hungry and boat food is about as aesthetically pleasing as airplane food.

 

Granneman 5

As you might imagine, London has a constant flow of planes flying overhead. This plane just happened to make a solid picture.

 

Granneman 6

The sun sets quite late here at a little after 9pm each night. It won’t get fully dark until a little before 10. It makes it super difficult to go to bed early, which I often do, but not tonight because I’m on a boat!

 

Granneman 7

We floated under the Tower Bridge on our journey. It is one of London’s most iconic sites and one of my favorite things to see here in London. As you float under, you can wave at other tourists and watch them almost drop their sunglasses over the edge!

 

Granneman 8

As it starts to get darker, London illuminates with beautiful lights. It’s an ex-electrical engineering major’s dream!

 

Granneman 9

We got off of the boat and made our way to a tube station to go back home. On our journey we walked past the London Eye. It used to light up with blue lights, but Coca Cola bought it, so now the color has changed to red. Although now that I look at the picture, it looks a little bit like it’s falling over, but I promise it’s perfectly stable.

 

Granneman 10

This is not a picture from today, it is a picture taken right before we headed across the pond. I only have a week and a half left here in London before my program is over and I take off to explore 6 more countries in Europe before coming back to good old Iowa. London has been absolutely wonderful to me during my stay here. There is so much to do you can never get bored, and there is so much history in every step you take. To students: If you are thinking about studying abroad or just traveling, do it! It will be an experience that you will never forget! To people that are upset that I’m from ISU standing in front of an ISU advertisement, wearing a Drake University sweatshirt: I’m sorry, it’s comfortable, and it was a 7 hour flight.

Leave a Reply

