Honors Summer Snapshots: Augustine

Ever wonder what Honors students do during the summer? Instead of doing “traditional” blog posts this summer, Honors Ambassadors and students will be taking you into their summer routines via photos. Augustine Villa should be considering a career in food photography because LOOK AT THAT S’MORE:

Villa 1

Having an internship close to home this summer has had its perks. One of them is having a nice backyard view and garden with fresh fruits and vegetables! I have enjoyed helping out with the yardwork this summer (such as trimming the willow tree in the picture), especially on Fridays when the workday ends at 1pm for the company I am interning for.

 

Villa 2

Being close to home this summer has also allowed me to spend more time with my family. It has been great spending time with them while I am still close to home. Today we went to Ledges State park and hiked a couple of trails.

 

Villa 3

Heading to work this summer has been fun, with the opportunity to ride in (and occasionally drive) my dad’s ’87 Mustang convertible. Knowing how to drive a manual transmission car has a lot of perks, and is much more enjoyable than driving an automatic.

 

Villa 4

This is my desk at the insurance company I am interning for. Although I am studying Chemical Engineering, I have been taking additional computer and programming classes to achieve higher proficiency. Those classes paid off when I scored this internship performing new software testing, implementation, and database integration. Even if I never work for an insurance company, the technical elements I am working with be useful in almost any company.

 

Villa 5

The company took an all employee photo today with a drone hovering over the lake. It was the first photo that they had taken in 10 years, so I might be on their website for awhile 🙂 .

 

Villa 6

I have also had the chance to do some Cuban cooking with my dad while at home this summer; a favorite is black beans and rice with an old family recipe.

 

Villa 7

Finally, it has been delicious to have a fire pit in the backyard this summer. Some chocolate and marshmallows are a great way to end the day!

Leave a Reply

