Honors Summer Snapshots: Catie

Ever wonder what Honors students do during the summer? Instead of doing “traditional” blog posts this summer, Honors Ambassadors and students will be taking you into their summer routines via photos. Catie Meis has spent her summer in Minneapolis driving, hiking, interning, and making better suppers than you:

Meis 1

So I am living up in Minneapolis this summer working at a company called Medtronic, which makes medical devices such as pacemakers and insulin pumps. I spend 45 -55 minutes on average commuting to work each way through the wonderful rush hour traffic – so I have gotten to spend some quality bonding time with my new car. It’s kind of my baby.

 

Meis 2

I stole this photo from Google Maps because it would have been awkward to stand in the road and take my own– this is the campus that I work at every day.

 

Meis 3

I have been getting a little more adventurous with my cooking this summer and trying new things. Since I am just feeding myself, if I mess up it’s not a big deal. I’ll eat it anyway. I splurged here and made some pan-seared salmon with potatoes and spinach salad with homemade vinaigrette. It was good, if I do say so myself!

 

Meis 4

When I am not working or driving to work, I like to be outside. That’s one of the perks of living in Minneapolis – it’s a very outdoorsy, active city and easy to get out and explore. Becca (also an intern at Medtronic) and I did some hiking on the weekends. I have also gone biking, trail running and kayaking – in case you weren’t aware, Minnesota has like 10,000 lakes. 🙂

 

Meis 5

I am lucky enough to stay at a family friend’s house this summer instead of having to find a 3-month apartment lease in the city. This is my roommate, Princess the cat. She is literally the loudest cat I have ever heard! I am definitely a dog person, but I will admit it is nice to have some company.

 

Meis 6

But it wouldn’t be summer without some fun! I traveled to Europe with the Iowa State Singers in May – fabulous. We went to Italy, Austria, and Germany. Here I am watching the sun set over the Arno River in Florence, Italy.

 

Meis 7

This is a better pic of the sunset without me in the way!

 

Meis 8

And at the end of July I flew out to meet my family in Montana. We went on a day hike up near Big Sky – the big peak is Lone Mountain. We just referred to it as “the Lonely Mountain” (Lord of the Rings anyone?). Here my younger sister and I are at the end of the hike – did a little rock “climbing” at the end of the trail and got rewarded with a pretty awesome view. Proud to say sis is representing Cy (#exCYted4FHP) – and she will be a freshman at ISU in the Honors Program this fall! Yay!

Leave a Reply

