Honors Summer Snapshots: Emma

Ever wonder what Honors students do during the summer? Honors Ambassadors and students will be taking you into their 2016 summer routines via photos. Emma Runquist is still finishing up her semester in wintry Australia…wish her luck on finals!

Rocky Cape Group

I’ve had the fortune of study abroad at the University of Tasmania in Australia since mid-February and it has been a compete blast! I’ve traveled all around Tasmania and met some amazing people. This picture is from a 3 day trip we took around the north coast and represents both the fun I’ve had and that multinationalism of my friends. From left to right we have the countries Denmark, Sweden, Poland, US, and Germany.

It’s full on winter here; I woke up to 30 degrees with a high of 57 degrees. Despite the fact that winters here feel like mid fall days, I still miss warm days on the beach. This is a picture from me releasing my inner botany nerd at Wineglass Bay over Easter break.

It wouldn’t be Australia if I didn’t include a picture of a marsupial! I have seen kangaroos, wallabies, pademelons, and quokkas while I’ve been here. Despite the fact that they are like deer back home, I still act like a little kid in a candy store when I see them.

DCIM100GOPRO

This picture was taken on Sunday on a hike in New Zealand and on Monday, I got back. It was hard to come back to finals and studying after spending five days downhill mountain biking, wine tasting, hiking, eating amazing food, and sightseeing but I think I’m transitioning back alright.

Breakfast

Finals at ISU are right after classes end and are crazy. At UTAS, we have “study week.” Meaning we have no classes the week before exams start. Exams are 23 days long and it’s unusual to have more than one exam a day. Since I have so much time, I made myself a fancy breakfast this morning consisting of fried eggs topped with avocado on toast, a small cinnamon roll made the night before, and some sausage.

Study Space

I love libraries and UTAS’s library is no exception. I have spent a lot of time there and in fact, I’m there right now! This is my usual set up and today, I’m studying for my metabolic biochemistry final on Monday. If you look closely, you can see my coffee cup. I frequent the campus café so much they know my name AND my order.

VLUU L200  / Samsung L200

Last week, my friend invited me to go to the Banff film festival in town. Before leaving, we made dinner together consisting of Alpine pasta (alfredo and pesto sauce mixed together), green beans and garlic bread. Needless to say, all around tasty.

VLUU L200  / Samsung L200

Every year, there is a weeklong outdoor film festival in Banff Canada featuring all the best outdoors and adventure films. Once the festival ends, the festival then tours the world showing 7-10 short films. Luckily, they came to Launceston right in time for a well-timed study break! We saw films featuring downhill mountain biking, ridding mustangs from Mexico to Canada, speed climbing El Capitan, and just about any other outdoor sport or activity you can imagine. It was awesome!

Leave a Reply

