Honors Summer Snapshots: Joel

Ever wonder what Honors students do during the summer? Honors Ambassadors and students will be taking you into their 2016 summer routines via photos. Joel Boulter is interning with Story Construction and getting up a lot earlier than you are:

Boulter 1

My day usually begins at 6AM. I’m not gonna lie, getting up this early is hard in the summer, especially since I was never up before 8AM last semester. Breakfast usually makes it better.

Boulter 2

This summer, I am working here in Ames as a Project Engineer Intern with Story Construction. The title doesn’t mean much- I work with a crew of anywhere from two to six guys doing general construction work on small projects around Ames. Lately, I’ve spent most of my time working inside Mary Greeley Medical Center.

Boulter 3

I have one of the best commutes imaginable! It takes me about 5 minutes to drive to the hospital in the morning.

Boulter 4

When I get to the hospital, I go to our construction office which is located in one of the patient rooms on third floor. Story Construction is doing an interior remodel of the third and fourth floors here, which means we’re updating the flooring, paint, and wallpaper in both the corridors and patient rooms. The project was started in January, and will end at the end of July. One of the many benefits of the job: it’s air conditioned, and away from the heat of the Iowa summer.

Boulter 5

After spending a full 8-hour day at work, I return to my apartment in Freddy Court. It’s pretty convenient to live here over the summer, although it’s definitely not as great as living at home back in Minnesota.

Boulter 6

I’m taking an online physics class (not through Iowa State) over the summer, which will help me stay on track to graduate in four years. Most of my afternoon is spent working on physics homework.

Boulter 7

Dinner is never anything fancy. Often I eat leftovers from the night before and a salad. Re-using the plastic container saves me time in washing the dishes!

Boulter 8

Boulter 9

Boulter 10

After dinner I try to get some form of exercise, whether it be biking or taking a walk. I’ve been taking a lot of walks lately, as my bike needs a new front tire and I haven’t got around to fixing it. Since I’m a big construction nerd, I often visit the many construction sites on campus during my walks.

Boulter 11

The rest of my night is either spent finishing physics work or relaxing. Despite their terrible season so far, I enjoy watching the Minnesota Twins on TV whenever they’re playing, and often have the game on my computer.

Boulter 12

I often go to bed around 10PM (early, I know, but 6AM comes fast). Before I do so, I make sure my tool bag is ready for the next day of work.

Leave a Reply

