Honors Summer Snapshots: Sydney

Ever wonder what Honors students do during the summer? Honors Ambassadors and students will be taking you into their 2016 summer routines via photos. Sydney Hill’s summer schedule is filled with a VERY PRECISE morning alarm time, veterinary shenanigans, and the best that Omaha has to offer:

A DAY IN THE LIFE OF SYDNEY: Get ready because I’m about to make my life sound a LOT more fun than it is!

Hill 1

My morning usually starts one of two ways. If it’s a work day, I wake up at precisely 6:05 AM (I don’t know why 6:05), put on a pair of scrubs and my fancy nursing clogs (they’re cooler than they sound), make a bowl of oatmeal and a cup of coffee, and head out the door to be at work at 7. If I don’t have to work, then I enjoy sleeping in, making a yummy breakfast, and drinking my coffee peacefully. My favorite part of spending my summer at home is the magical coffee from my mom’s coffee maker… but if she asks you, it’s that I get to spend more time with her! 😉

Hill 2

This summer I’ll be spending my third summer at Gentle Doctor Animal Hospital working full time as a veterinary assistant. I love my job because every day here is unique. I get to do animal related things like draw blood, set up lab tests, interact with patients and their owners, but I also get to do really random things like install central vacuum ports (I winged it) and develop new informational handouts for clients. I never mind the 12-hour shifts because I love what I do and I work with hilarious, awesome people! (Hopefully my boss sees this and I’ll get some brownie points…)

Hill 3

I thought I might get bored this summer with all my free time, so I decided to take physics online. I don’t regret that decision at all. I mean who wouldn’t want to be inside learning about how long it takes for a ball to fall off the side of a cliff when its beautiful outside.

Hill 4

When I’m not working or studying, I try to get outside as much as I can. It just so happens that I have the perfect reading/sunbathing buddy.

Hill 5

It’s currently College World Series time in Omaha, Nebraska. I had the pleasure of attending the opening ceremony, which had a concert, fireworks, and people skydiving onto the field!

Leave a Reply

