Honors Summer Snapshots: Jacqueline

Ever wonder what Honors students do during the summer? Honors Ambassadors and students will be taking you into their 2016 summer routines via photos. Jacqueline Rapp is literally in paradise:

I am spending my summer in Oahu, Hawaii! I live on the Pearl Harbor Navy base and am working at a Child Development Center (a daycare) for the children of military families which is through the program Camp Adventure. I have been living here since May 26th and will leave on August 20th. I am already loving my time here and this is a snapshot of my summer!

Rapp 1

This is my friend, Halle, and me in our uniforms before we go to work!

Rapp 2

The hotel we are all living in–called Utah Hall. There are 54 of us Camp Adventure interns that are living and working here this summer!

 

I can’t take pictures of the kids but I am in a preschool classroom with around 20 children. I work 8-5 in the preschool classroom doing art projects, reading books, doing imaginative play, singing some songs, playing outside, and eating breakfast, lunch, and snack with the kids! They are so cute and it is a fun experience. Sometimes they are challenging but in the end it is worth it.

After our work day we are free until the night and so I usually run and hang out with friends I have made that are in the same program! We go on walks, have Bachelorette viewings, plan our weekends, and just hang out.

On the weekends we have done so many awesome things while seeing the island and experiencing Hawaii!

These are pictures from the Diamond Head hike, Pillbox hike, and Manoa Falls:

Rapp 3

Rapp 4

Rapp 5

Rapp 6

These are a couple pictures from the Luau we went to.

Rapp 7

Luau picture #2

Rapp 8

We went to the Dole Plantation and got their famous Dole Whip pineapple ice cream.

Rapp 9

Renting paddle boards and kayaks.

Rapp 10

Rapp 11

A couple other cool things we have done include going to the Memorial Day lantern floating at Alamoana Beach.

Rapp 12

Fireworks on the beach

Rapp 13

And the Swap meet which is a huge flee market at Honolulu Stadium

Rapp 14

To sum it up, Oahu is this picture: ocean, beach, and mountains all at one time 🙂 I can’t wait for so many more great adventures here!!

Leave a Reply

