Honors Summer Snapshots: Jessica

Ever wonder what Honors students do during the summer? Honors Ambassadors and students will be taking you into their 2016 summer routines via photos. You should think of Jessica Brown and her awesome internship every time you eat Blue Bunny ice cream this summer:

Hello Honors friends! This summer I am working as a software engineering intern at Wells Enterprises, located in Le Mars, IA. Wells is the ice cream manufacturer of Blue Bunny, Bomb Pop, Weight Watchers, and many more ice cream treats.

Brown 1

Brown 2

Le Mars is only about 30 minutes from my hometown, Sioux City, IA, so I get lots of family time (and dog time). Every morning I make the 30 minute drive to Wells Corporate Headquarters.

Brown 3

As a software engineer, a lot of what I do involves coding, doing database integration, and improving software processes. Basically, I help the workers on the ice cream lines perform their job efficiently by providing them with adequate information.

Brown 4

My favorite spots in the building include the social media desk (a.k.a. “The Throne”) and my boss’s desk. You can see why!

Brown 5

Brown 6

Working at an ice cream company definitely has its perks. There are freezers full of ice cream for the employees EVERYWHERE. Sometimes when I walk by this one, I can hear a heavenly choir singing to me.

Brown 7

During my lunch break, I study for the physics class that I’m taking online while enjoying an ice cream novelty.

Brown 8

Every week the corporate lab holds an ice cream taste test for the employees to help them make business decisions. You sit down in a booth and taste three different samples of ice cream, and decide which one is different and why. Here is a photo of me tasting a peanut butter cup ice cream sample.

Brown 9

Part of my job includes meeting with the users of the software to ensure that all processes are running smoothly. These ice cream plant supervisors were really excited to be featured in my snapshot.

Brown 10

Today I am headed to Okoboji to go boating with some friends I met while living on Martin-Starbuck, an Honors floor.

Brown 11

All in all, it’s been a great summer so far, and I feel lucky to be able to learn at an awesome company while enjoying time with family and friends!

Leave a Reply

