Honors Summer Snapshots: Payton

Ever wonder what Honors students do during the summer? Honors Ambassadors and students will be taking you into their 2016 summer routines via photos. Payton Wise shares a typical day while studying abroad in Valencia, Spain (oh and also a quick trip to Ireland just because):

Wise 1

Have you ever wondered what it’s like to study abroad? Well if you have, it’s your lucky day! If you haven’t…then you’re going to learn anyway! Here’s a day in the life of an ISU student attempting to pass as a college student in Valencia, Spain.

While we’re here, we live with a host family who does just about everything for us.  From providing meals to doing laundry, Marcos and Maria Jesus (my host parents) have it all covered.  I have one roommate, Sophie, and three other “apartment buddies” who are also students living with my host parents.  One, Moira, is a fellow FHP leader with me at ISU! The two others, Nina and Deborah, are here from Italy.  Monday through Thursday, we head off to the University of Valencia from 9am to 12:30pm–and the rest of the day? All for exploration, relaxation, and enjoying the Spanish culture!

Wise 2

La comida– the Spanish version of lunch

After or even during siesta time, when no shops or stores are open, we normally do some exploring of the city.  There are a ton of things to do in Valencia such as La Malvarrosa beach, The City of Arts and Sciences, and the Old City of Valencia.

Wise 3

Malvarrosa Beach

Wise 4

City of Arts and Sciences

Wise 5

Central Market

Wise 6

A random building I found whilst wandering downtown. I was lost during this time so I couldn’t tell you where it’s located…

Wise 7

Plaza de la Virgen

After our adventures, we return home, do our homework (Homework??? What??? Yes, when STUDYing abroad, one must actually study and do some homework in between beach trips), and then eat la cena (dinner) around 8:30.  Dinner varies in size but normally isn’t as fancy or large as lunch.  After dinner many people rest again, and then head out to discotecas (night clubs) around 11:00pm or 12:00am.  I like to go out and find great ice cream places and walk the beach when no one else is there (how romantic right?!).

Wise 8

Fountain by la Malvarrosa Beach

With our three day weekends, it’s nice to sometimes get out of the city and travel to other cities in Spain, or even other countries because travel is pretty cheap.  Sophie and I went to Ireland this past weekend. Ireland is absolutely amazing, and no pictures even begin to do it justice! Here are a few snapshots from our trip:

Wise 9

Some wall art in the city of Cork. Because of my last name (Wise), I have a small obsession with owls. If you have no idea why my last name being Wise would have any influence on my liking of owls, then just forget I said any of this.

Wise 10

Sophie and I at the Cliffs of Moher

Wise 11

This is me kissing the Blarney Stone

Wise 12

The Hall of Honors at Trinity College in Dublin. If I can’t be at the Jischke Honors Building in Ames, I guess this hall in Dublin will suffice.

Unfortunately, my adventure abroad ends in early July, but that means I still have two weeks to pack in a ton of beauty, sunshine, and fun here in Valencia and wherever else my travels take me!  I can’t wait to be back in Ames this fall, though, and show off all my Spanish speaking skills.  Hasta luego!

(P.S. Shout out to my awesome ISU roommate Gabi for checking my grammar and the overall scholarly-ness of this blog.  No idea what I would do without her. Probly spel thyngs rong!)

Leave a Reply

