Honors Summer Snapshots: Anna

Ever wonder what Honors students do during the summer? Honors Ambassadors and students will be taking you into their 2016 summer routines via photos. Anna Wilcox is back on the equator, but in the western hemisphere this time:

My name is Anna Wilcox and I am a senior in Nutritional Science and Global Resource Systems. This summer I am spending two months in Cuenca, Ecuador where I am completing my international internship for Global Resource Systems.

Wilcox 1

I am working with the Center for Inter-American Studies (CEDEI). My internship works with the CATCH program, which is program based out of the United States that focuses on preventing obesity and promoting a healthier lifestyle for kids. I arrived in Cuenca on May 22 and since that time I have been observing CATCH lessons, revising menus for the school I work at, and putting on nutrition workshops for parents and students at schools around Cuenca.

Wilcox 2

CEDEI School where I observe classes, revised the menus, and put together nutrition workshops for the students.

Wilcox 3

Nutrition Workshop for parents at a local public school in Cuenca

I am currently staying with a host family in Cuenca. It has been a great experience to improve my Spanish skills and learn more about the culture of Cuenca and Ecuador.

Wilcox 4

This is a stereotypical almuerzo for me. Almuerzo is the main meal here in Ecuador. It always starts with a bowl of soup, and it is followed by a bigger plate with rice, some type of meat, and some veggies.

I have also been able to explore Cuenca and other places in Ecuador.

Wilcox 5

This is the “New Cathedral” in Cuenca. It is one of the largest cathedrals in all of South America.

Wilcox 6

These are Incan Ruins in Cuenca called Pumapunga.

Wilcox 7

I took a bus tour of Cuenca which ended at Turi which has a lookout of the entire city along with a pretty sweet swing.

Wilcox 8

Last weekend I traveled to Cajas National Park which is only about 45 minutes outside of Cuenca. It is located in the mountains and has so many lakes. We also explored a forest that has trees that are nearly 2,000 years old.

Wilcox 9

Wilcox 10

I also visited Quilotoa which is a water-filled caldera and the most western volcano in the Ecuadorian Andes. We hiked for about 11 km through beautiful scenery and ended at the lake which was breathtaking.

Wilcox 11

Wilcox 12

I am excited to keep working on my projects (along with my Honors project woo!) and exploring new parts of Ecuador. I have trips planned to the beach as well as the Amazon. Ecuador truly is an amazingly beautiful country. Hope everyone is having an awesome and adventurous summer!

Leave a Reply

