Honors Summer Snapshots: Kaitlin

Ever wonder what Honors students do during the summer? Honors Ambassadors and students will be taking you into their 2016 summer routines via photos. Kaitlin Peterson has been right here in central Iowa, catching up on all the stuff she’s too busy to do during the school year:

This summer I have spent a lot of time at Iowa State and with my family. I took summer classes during May and the first half of June. I really enjoyed my summer classes and would recommend them to any student! I also celebrated my 20th birthday in June. On that day I went to Reiman Gardens with my family, right here in Ames.  It was great fun to explore the new Lego exhibits that are spread throughout the gardens! My favorite was the spider Lego sculpture.

Peterson 1

Peterson 2

I also got the chance to ride the famous High Trestle Trail bike trail and cross the bridge while it was lit at night. From my home town, it is about a 25-mile bike ride up to the bridge which is a half mile long. I rode up with my mother and my sister on the summer solstice to get a glimpse of the sun setting on the longest day of the year! It was great to see the bridge light up blue.

Peterson 3

Peterson 4

Leave a Reply

