Honors Summer Snapshots: Aisha

Ever wonder what Honors students do during the summer? Honors Ambassadors and students will be taking you into their 2016 summer routines via photos. Aisha Washington is interning at the mysterious Kingland Systems in Ames and recently got back from a southern road trip with her family:

Washington 1

I’ve spent this summer in Ames working at Kingland Systems as a Data Research Analyst. Kingland has a very open and friendly environment, and I’ve been able to meet and interact with the partners and other full-time staff through their Campus2Kingland program. You may recognize Kingland as the building above CVS with the colorful chairs.

Washington 2

Being away from home has left me with a lot of time to go exploring. I “discovered” this path to get to Freddy Court from the northern copy services building. I’ve also been finding loads of new places and parks to relax in.

Washington 3

Washington 4

I joined a soccer team through work, and we have our games every Sunday at the McCarthy Lee Park. So far we’re 0 for 3, but it’s cool to be able to interact with some of my coworkers outside of work. It’s also great motivation for staying fit on my own time!

Washington 5

The highlight of my summer has been going to Memphis, TN for a family reunion. We visited the Lorraine Civil Rights Museum which was built around the actual motel where Martin Luther King Jr. was assassinated. It was cool to find out that my grandparents stayed there for their honeymoon in the same era.

Washington 6

There were a lot of unique pieces of art at the Civil Rights Museum including this bronze sculpture “Movement to Overcome” by Michael Pavlovsky. It is the first thing you see when you enter the museum and sends the message of the need for people to help each other to reach better things.

Washington 7

From Tennessee, my family made sure to visit Como, MS where my grandmother grew up. I was excited to visit the tiny town, but it was way smaller than I could have imagined. The downtown area of Como only stretched one block and there was only one long road. Even the water tower had a small town feel to it.

Washington 8

Halfway into our ten hour drive home from Tennessee our rental car got a flat tire. We were all tired from the long weekend, but my dad showed all of us kids how to change a tire and we were on our way in no time!

Leave a Reply

