Honors Summer Snapshots: Eric

Ever wonder what Honors students do during the summer? Honors Ambassadors and students will be taking you into their 2016 summer routines via photos. Eric Schnieders is back counseling at Camp Courageous, where justice is being done to him via kangaroo court:

Hello Everyone!

For those of you that don’t know me my name is Eric Schnieders and I will be a senior in Biochemistry starting in August. This Summer I have been having one amazing adventure at Camp Courageous. We are a special needs camp that serves adults and children year-round from around Iowa and the surrounding states. During the summer we have week-long camps that run from Sunday afternoon to Friday. I am a counselor working with many campers and helping them have a wonderful time. The disabilities they have vary widely from autism, Down syndrome, physical disabilities and often combinations of many things. Campers don’t let that stop them, though. Some activities we do include zip lining through the forest, camping out every Wednesday, and dancing the night away on Thursday evenings, just to name a few. Campers love it here because for one week out of the year they are the rock stars. Often times they make friends with other campers that last lifetimes. Camp Courageous is such a special place. It is where I come to refresh myself from the drudgery of school. It is where I gain new inspirations and friendships both with fellow counselors and campers. And lastly, it is where I go to have some plain old fun.

Schnieders 1

This is my friend Brian meeting our chinchilla Chi-Chi for the first time. He loved feeling her soft fur on his face.

Schnieders 2

This is an event called kangaroo court. At this event counselors are placed on trial for silly things they might have done to their campers and then punished accordingly. I apparently called this lady “fancy pants” so I received face paint for it.

Schnieders 3

In my down time I love getting out to awesome events like the Iowa City Arts Festival.

Schnieders 4

This is my group from the first week of summer. We had all kinds of fun.

Leave a Reply

