Honors Summer Snapshots: Mala

Ever wonder what Honors students do during the summer? Honors Ambassadors and students will be taking you into their 2016 summer routines via photos. Mala Sharma is giving the geotags on her Snapchat a workout while studying, orienting new students, and being the best summer CA ever:

Sharma 1

Hi everyone! My name is Mala and I’m one of ISU’s Community Advisers this summer.

Sharma 2

Along with working as a CA, I also worked Orientation for the Biology Department. Being a senior, I try to impart 3 years of experiential wisdom like taking 8 AMs or 21 credits is just asking for trouble. My favorite part of working with freshmen is asking them what their career goals are because I’m still looking for ideas.

Sharma 3

I have also been volunteering a couple hours a week at the Blank Children’s Hospital in Des Moines. I mostly wander around this huge hospital lost. In my free time from being lost, I make hourly rounds in the Preoperative Surgery wing interacting with patients, making patient charts, stocking supplies, and helping with anything else the nurses need.

That’s basically all I do in a week- It’s fun for me but pretty boring to read about in a blog so I’m going to share pictures from my family vacation to Canada! Disclaimer: I live a very sedentary lifestyle so all this walking was so new that it confused my Fitbit to the point that it refused to sync to my phone until the day we took a break and stayed home.

Sharma 4

First stop was Queen Elizabeth Park. I did not see The Queen in statue or flesh form but I got this artsy-fartsy picture so it wasn’t a complete disappointment.

Sharma 5

Next we went to Stanley park in Vancouver. If I was an actual photographer I would have taken a picture of the Olympic torch rather than some random boats. If you have 20/5 vision, you can see it on the very left side by the pillars.

Sharma 6

After that, we went to the Capilano Suspension Bridge in North Vancouver. First you ‘walk’ (more like stumble while holding on to dear life) across the actual ~500 ft suspension bridge and then there are smaller bridges from one tree to the next. This place is seriously sooooo cool. Definitely recommend googling/ visiting it!

Sharma 8

Sharma 7

I also pretended to study for the MCAT whenever and wherever I could.

Sharma 9

And even more North is Squamish. Here is the exact moment where I realized this was not what Frost meant when he said ‘the road less traveled.’ Contemplating my next step, literally and metaphorically. Mostly literally.

Leave a Reply

