Honors Summer Snapshots: Erin

Ever wonder what Honors students do during the summer? Honors Ambassadors and students will be taking you into their 2016 summer routines via photos. Erin Wagner stayed in Iowa this summer to intern in Cedar Rapids and to learn how to adult:

Hi everyone! My name’s Erin Wagner and I’ll be a junior this fall double majoring in Agricultural Business and Animal Science.  This summer I’ve been in Cedar Rapids, Iowa, interning and learning how to live on my own….it was a little scary at first, but now I’ve gotten the hang of it!  I’ve learned all about getting things ON SALE, it’s so much cheaper, and sometimes you can even get rewards (like the fuel perks at HyVee – BEST THING EVER!!).

Wagner 1

Most of my meals are simple, like this breakfast of boring oatmeal, although some weekends I will tend to be more extravagant with my cooking like making tacos complete with a salsa – cheese dip.

Wagner 2

Other things I’ve done include getting out and running in my neighborhood and at a local park as well as exploring the community. This picture is from a welcome sign I saw that I liked at the farmers market as a template to make my own someday…and it’s the only picture I have of my activities out and about.

But now for what I actually do: I’m working for a small commodity brokerage company.  They help farmers and producers trade in the futures market.  That’s not what I do though; I helped to design informational brochures for their clients to help them understand what the company can do for them. It was neat taking what I’ve learned in my classes and applying it to the real world!

Wagner 3

Here is a couple that we have printed already. I’m pretty proud of them myself. In addition to this project I am also working on developing a document in regards to a compliance regulation about cyber security.

Wagner 4

Since I’m almost six hours from home I didn’t get to go back for the 4th of July weekend. Instead I stayed with close family friends enjoying fireworks and friendships.

Wagner 5

Of course, then I have to post a picture of the fireworks, since that is probably the most exciting thing I’ve done this summer. I’m excited to have had this internship opportunity and looking forward to the future!!

Leave a Reply

