Honors Summer Snapshot: Emily

Ever wonder what Honors students do during the summer? Honors Ambassadors and students will be taking you into their 2016 summer routines via photos. Emily Forsyth skipped right over summer and has already jumped into the fall semester in New Zealand:

Hey there, everyone! My name is Emily Forsyth and I am a junior studying Kinesiology and Health, Pre-Occupational Therapy. This summer/fall I am studying abroad at the University of Otago in Dunedin, New Zealand!

I have been here for about a month now and I have already finished 4 weeks of the semester! The campus here is beautiful, Buzzfeed ranked it the 14th most beautiful campus in the world. (Iowa State was #5)

Forsyth 1

Some of the oldest buildings on campus!

The big adjustment has been leaving the warm weather in Iowa and coming to the middle of winter here. It is about 40-50 degrees on average, but it might snow tonight.  Let me tell you, people lose their minds here when it snows! On one of the nicer days, I hiked to the top of Signal Hill Lookout which has incredible views of the Otago Harbor.

Forsyth 2

Forsyth 3

You can’t quite see Antarctica from here, but you can sure feel the breeze!

One of the highlights of my trip so far has been watching a rugby game at Forsyth Barr Stadium! Rugby is the national sport of New Zealand. I’m a big Cyclone football and basketball fan, but rugby is some next level stuff here. If you want to see more rugby pictures and videos: https://www.dropbox.com/s/181i6if5vz3k49s/Highlanders%20Rugby.mp4?dl=0

Forsyth 4

Forsyth 5

Another unique experience you can’t see anywhere else was watching the 2016 Cadbury Jaffa Race. I live about 10 minutes away from a giant Cadbury Chocolate factory and about 15 minutes in the other direction is the steepest inhabited street in the world!  It was quite the sight, thousands of people lined the streets in hopes they had purchased a ticked for the winning Jaffa. I’ll back up a moment to explain, the Jaffa Race is sponsored by the local Cadbury factory as a charity fundraiser. There are three races for three separate charities, each with 25,000 pieces of chocolate rolled down the street. Spectators buy a ticket with a number on it for only $1, if the corresponding Jaffa comes in the top 5 of the race there are sweet prizes associated. Sadly, I didn’t win – that would have been sweet! (Pun intended)

Forsyth 6

Forsyth 7

So that’s a snapshot of my summer so far! Studying abroad is by far the hardest thing I have done during my time as a Cyclone, but so worth it. I am making connections with people from all over the world and learning a ton about myself at the same time.

If you’re interested in following more of my adventures, check out my blog at https://emilyforsythblog.wordpress.com/.

Leave a Reply

