Madeline + Valentine’s Day

by Madeline Keane

Often, Valentine’s Day is a day to celebrate your love with that significant other. For some of the single people in the world, the day is just like any other in February- cold and dreary. Personally, I look forward to the 14th of February because it is the day before all the red and pink candy goes on sale.

Last year on Valentine’s Day, I was inspired by a friend who bought herself a gift to celebrate. She is a very proud, independent woman. My friend said she could justify splurging since she was not obligated to buy a gift for another person. I took her advice and bought a heart shaped pizza – all for me. This treat was followed by cheap candy the next day, obviously.

As the days draw nearer, I have begun to think about how I will treat myself for the holiday this year. I decided third wheeling isn’t such a bad option, so I compiled a list of the best food duos there are:

Frosty and fries: I suppose you could substitute any milkshake and fry combination, but in my opinion, Wendy’s does it best. The creamy, chocolatey milkshake given the name Frosty is amplified in greatness when you use fries as the medium to your mouth. This may sound strange, but I encourage you to try it before you judge.

Peas and carrots: Forest Gump said it best, “We go together like peas and carrots.”

Macaroni and cheese with chicken: This adds protein and flavor to a classic comfort food! I add vegetables sometimes, too! Once, I ordered a large serving of this combination from Noodles. Fear not, with the help of a few friends and several days of leftovers, I took down this entire pan of Wisconsin mac.

keane-1

Oreos and milk: they are milk’s favorite cookie after all.

S’mores: A toasty, golden marshmallow with melty chocolate and crunchy graham cracker cookies. Yum. Probably one of the best parts of summer is making s’mores over a campfire. You can totally roast a marshmallow over the stove or a candle if you crave this treat on Valentine’s Day when the forecast is not favorable for an outdoor fire.

keane-2

Chips and dip: Wavy Lays pairs nicely with French onion. I also enjoy Bugles and dip. This is not a healthy option, but sometimes love is the only way.

Peanut butter and _________: Honestly, you could substitute almost any sweet, carb-loaded treat to complete this phrase. Peanut butter and jelly, peanut butter and banana, peanut butter and chocolate, peanut butter and Oreos- try one or try them all! I guess peanut butter may be sort of a player when it comes to food relationships.

With food combinations this delicious, you don’t have to feel bad about being the third wheel. Whether you have someone special to share the day with, or you will be treating yourself to new shoes, I’d like to wish everyone a happy Valentine’s Day. Happy chocolate eating!

Leave a Reply

