Honors Summer Snapshots: Hannah

Ever wonder what Honors students do during the summer? Honors Ambassadors and students will be taking you into their 2017 summer routines via photos. Hannah Gaffney is having an idyllic summer in Ames:

Hi Everyone! My name is Hannah Gaffney and I will be a junior this fall studying Elementary Education. I am spending my summer in Ames, living in Phi Gamma Delta Fraternity with about 20 other college students! I keep busy during the week nannying and tutoring at Sylvan Learning Center. During the week I also like to go for runs, consume large amounts of ice cream, and find parks to read at! During the weekends I’ve kept busy with trips and going on little adventures with friends! Most of which has consisted of a lot of highway driving and even more country music!

I nanny for a great family with the sweetest girls that live near Ames. I get to help out with three girls – all under the age of 5! The oldest, Liv, is four and loves to have dance parties (normally we listen to the Trolls or Moana soundtrack). She has more stuffed animals than anyone I have ever met and sleeps with every single one of them. The three-year-old, Brinn, loves to play and it doesn’t matter what. She missed the picture since she was napping after a busy day of trying out the new kiddie pool! She never fails to make me laugh, especially when she asks for “Loke” which means yogurt. (Took me a little bit to figure that one out!!) The 2 girls especially love to make their baby sister giggle. Rowynn is 5 months old and so much fun to be around – she is the happiest baby – I could play with her for hours! We have had such a fun summer so far!

Two of my closest friends and I went to Kansas City for a weekend to celebrate my 20th birthday! We went shopping at The Plaza, explored the Power & Light District, and found the Loose Park Rose Garden. The Rose Garden was a hot spot – everywhere we turned we were in the background of a photography session – family pictures, senior pictures, engagement pictures, and pregnancy photos – they were all going on around us! It was fun to watch all those different, important moments in people’s lives being documented at the same time.

My sister-in-law is the head soccer coach for the ADM Tigers, so I have gotten to watch a couple of their games including their match against Council Bluffs, where they won to qualify for the State Tournament!

If I see an ice cream shop I have never been to, I really can’t help but stop and check it out. Billy’s Ice Cream Store in Adel didn’t disappoint – there’s a good chance I’ll be stopping there again! 🙂

One comment on “Honors Summer Snapshots: Hannah

Leave a Reply

