Honors Summer Snapshots: Katie

Ever wonder what Honors students do during the summer? Honors Ambassadors and students will be taking you into their 2017 summer routines via photos. It’s all work work work work work for Katie Fleming, who is interning in vet clinics, working at her golf course, and enjoying what little free time she has:

Hi there! My name is Katie Fleming and I will be a junior majoring in pre-veterinary biology with a minor in animal science. This summer I have been interning with two veterinary clinics near my hometown of Dubuque, Iowa. The first clinic I am working with is Tri-Vet Associates in Farley, Iowa. This is a unique clinic because it is a mixed clinic (meaning they serve both large and small animals) in rural Iowa. Half of the clinic is dedicated to small animals, which is 99% dogs and cats. The other half of the clinic is designated for large animals, which is mostly cattle and horses. The clinic has a cattle chute, which gives them the ability to perform examinations and surgery on large animals right there in the clinic. However, if the owners cannot transport their livestock to the clinic, the doctors will also travel to their patients on farm calls.

I spend the majority of my time with the three small animal doctors. Interning with veterinarians is much more relaxed than with human medicine; the first day I was there I vaccinated patients, assisted in surgery, and got hands-on experience in all their appointments.

The second clinic I am working with is Teasdale Veterinary Clinic in East Dubuque, Illinois. Even though Teasdale is in Illinois, it is only about five minutes from my house, which is much closer than the twenty-five minute drive to Tri-Vet! This means every Tuesday-Friday morning, I get to drive over the Mississippi.

I like being able to work with two separate clinics because I get to experience different businesses. While Tri-Vet has nine veterinarians and about fifteen staff members, Teasdale is a single-doctor practice with one tech and an office manager. These differences have given me a chance to think about what sort of practice I want to work with in the future.

Classic intubation for surgeries where animals are under anesthesia

When I’m not at my internships you can find me at the Dubuque Country Club golf course, where I work. The best part of this job is the killer sunsets I see every night!

Finally, in my free time (which I don’t find myself having very often), you can find me hiking at the Mines of Spain State Park or playing with my three dogs. Brutus (black blob attacking Teddy) is our new 10-week old puppy and is technically my brother’s, but I claim him as mine. My other dogs are Teddy (black and white), the thirteen year old hermit who wants to be left alone, and Dudley (yellow), the two year model who is the most adorable dog on the planet. You would not believe how long it took me to get this photo and I promise it’s the best one!

Mines of Spain State Park – one of the cooler things about Dubuque. I’ve rock climbed that bluff and dropped my phone off the top but thanks to Otter Box, it still worked!

 

Doggos, as described above

Leave a Reply

