Honors Summer Snapshots: Alex

Ever wonder what Honors students do during the summer? Honors Ambassadors and students will be taking you into their 2017 summer routines via photos. Honors senior Alex McPhail is working and studying in Ames, but still finds time for running, entertainment, and anime:

It’s hard to believe that it’s already June! Summer has been going by so fast, and I’m sure I’m not the only one that feels this way. Despite how fast it is going, it has been quite a fun summer so far despite having a steady summer routine.

I opted to stay in Ames for the summer and continue my job with ISU Dining. I work at the Memorial Union Food Court, and while right now I just work in the venues, I have started to undergo a bit of training to prepare for my new position as a Student Assistant Manager in the fall! The start of the summer was honestly quite boring at work, but now that orientation is going on it’s been much busier. I really enjoy talking to families as they come through to get food.

I help serve breakfast at the Dish in the morning and then switch over to serving pizza at Godfathers during lunch.

After work, I spent a few hours working on homework for the two online classes I am taking over the summer as well as studying for the GRE which I will be taking next month. While having to do schoolwork during the summer isn’t the best thing, it’s nice getting a couple of classes out of the way now so my schedule will be more open during the school year.

While most of my summer has been taken up by work and school, I have had the opportunity to do some pretty cool things, which I will show with a photo montage below.

At the beginning of the summer I went to Des Moines with my family to partake in the Bubble Run!

 

Also near the beginning of summer I headed back home to Cedar Rapids to see RENT at the theater. This was the 20th anniversary tour for the show, which has been off Broadway for a few years now. I saw the show a few years ago when it was on its final tour, and as my favorite musical, it was an absolute thrill to see it again after thinking I wouldn’t get to see it live again!

 

At the end of May I headed to Ohio with a bunch of friends to attend a big anime convention called Colossalcon! This convention is at the Kalahari resort, so a lot of our time outside of the convention was spent going to the waterpark and enjoying all the attractions that the resort had to offer. Fun story: 2 of our friends spent all day Saturday (like 10 hours) at the waterpark on this surfing simulator. We never got to see them in action, but they say they got really good and can now do tricks and all kinds of crazy things.

 

This convention is all about the swimsuit cosplays. I only did this one swimsuit costume, pictured here with three of my friends also in their own swimsuit costumes. It was so much fun getting to walk around the outdoor waterpark and swim around in costume that I definitely want to do more the next time I go to this convention!

 

I also had the opportunity to do a lot of nice photoshoots of the various costumes I wore to this convention. This is a picture of my boyfriend and I cosplaying the characters Ochako and Deku from the anime My Hero Academia!

 

I attended a concert near the beginning of June as well. This was the Volbeat, Avenged Sevenfold, and Metallica concert at the Iowa Speedway. All three bands were amazing to see and it was a fun experience!

 

The last big thing I’ve done, as of the time of writing this blog, was going home once again to attend the Insane Inflatable 5k run! This was a run that included a variety of inflatable obstacles spread out throughout the course. Some were a bit tricky due to being wet from rain the night before, but it was still a fun race and the obstacles were a nice challenge and break from running.

Leave a Reply

