Honors Summer Snapshots: Logan

Ever wonder what Honors students do during the summer? Honors Ambassadors and students will be taking you into their 2017 summer routines via photos. Logan is working for Garmin, who should’ve hired him years ago as he’s been adding his own programming to his own Garmin products for at least as long:

My name is Logan Heitz and I’m a senior studying Software Engineering and Mathematics. This summer I’m working at Garmin in Olathe, Kansas as a software engineering intern. It’s hard to believe that I have already been working here for five weeks as it has been a blast so far. I’ve learned a lot about software engineering and about Garmin as a company and will have many more great opportunities before heading back to Ames in August. I’ve also been keeping busy exploring the Kansas City and Olathe areas.

There are about 130 interns working at Garmin headquarters in Olathe this summer across all of their different segments, from aviation to outdoors.

 

I’m working in the Marine consumer segment for Garmin this summer and as you can see we have a wide range of products, all the way from high end Chartplotters to Fishfinders. The Fishfinders are what I’m mainly working on this summer doing embedded software development. This has been a great opportunity as I’ve not had a chance to do much embedded software development in my course work.

 

Indian Creek Trail is right by my apartment and is a great place to go for a run or a walk.

 

One of the nice things about getting away from Iowa is actually having professional sports teams. So far, I’ve gotten the chance to see the Kansas City Royals play once for Garmin’s summer event at Kauffman Stadium. Unfortunately, there was a rain delay and the Royals lost eight to zero against the Cleveland Indians. I plan to get to another game before the summer ends.

 

I’ve also gotten the chance to hang out with fellow Honors students Jackson Voigt and Ewan Shortess a few times this summer as they are both in the Kansas City are for internships as well. One of the events we went to was Boulevardia: a big two-day event with live music put on by the Boulevard Brewing Company here in Kansas City.

 

I haven’t been completely free to explore Kansas City this summer as I’m taking Religion 210 online, so I spend some of my time studying for that. Speaking of which I should probably study for my test next week.

Leave a Reply

