Honors Summer Snapshots: Megan

Ever wonder what Honors students do during the summer? Honors Ambassadors and students will be taking you into their 2017 summer routines via photos. Honors junior Megan Rogers is having a delightful summer in her favorite place on the planet:

This summer I got to move back home to the GREATEST CITY IN THE WORLD! I might be a little biased… but I am so glad to be back in Kansas City for another summer. There’s no place I’d rather be!

PROOF OF MEGAN’S LOVE FOR KANSAS CITY: Myself, looking lovingly up towards a famous KC mural.

Before my internship started up, my parents and I took an amazing week-long trip to see the Pacific Northwest! Living in the Midwest for almost my entire life left me completely unprepared for the sheer natural beauty of this area… I spent most of the week picking my jaw up off the ground!

MEGAN’S FIRST TIME SEEING A REAL MOUNTAIN: My parents and I at a scenic viewpoint just outside of Portland, Oregon.

 

MEGAN’S FIRST HIKE UP TO THE TOP OF A WATERFALL: Hiking up to the top of Multnomah Falls in Oregon was my favorite part of this trip, by a landslide! We also visited Seattle while we were in this corner of the US.

This summer, I was so lucky to be hired as an intern in the Department of Student Ministries at the Church of the Resurrection in Leawood, Kansas! I grew up in this youth group, and it has always been a dream of mine to return as a college student to serve as a summer intern for this ministry! I’m pretty much getting paid to hang out with middle- and high-schoolers, which is the coolest thing ever. The two other interns and I get to write curriculum for and lead a weekly Bible study, and we also are responsible for running weekly programs like Sunday school and fellowship activities like kickball games and ultimate frisbee sessions. I also will be serving on two different missions trips to downtown Kansas City and inner-city Denver later this summer, for a week each!

MEGAN DOES LOTS OF SPORTS AT HER NEW JOB: Myself, my co-workers, and a large group of high-schoolers after one of our weekly Ultimate frisbee games! I am clearly a very athletic person…not.

 

MEGAN WORKS AT A REALLY COOL PLACE: Church of the Resurrection is home to a massive 37-by-93-foot stained glass window, which was installed over this past year. It is one of the largest depictions of Jesus in the whole world. I’m honored to call this sacred place my church home and my place of work for the summer.

 

MEGAN’S CO-WORKERS ARE SUPER AWESOME: Here we have myself, the two other summer interns, Riley and Meg, and our boss and middle-school minister, Andy. This photo was taken on the iconic “Wolf-Tee Wednesday,” which was a tradition started by Andy himself and is celebrated weekly by a majority of our youth ministry. We take this holiday very seriously, as you can see.

I can honestly say that this has been the best summer I’ve ever had, and it’s barely even started yet! I can’t wait to see what the rest of this summer has in store for me, and I am so thankful for the laughter and the joy that I’ve had so far!

One comment on “Honors Summer Snapshots: Megan

  1. Aunt kathy says:

    What a delightful journal.. thanks for sharing it with me.

Leave a Reply

