Honors Summer Snapshots: Hannah

Ever wonder what Honors students do during the summer? Honors Ambassadors and students will be taking you into their 2017 summer routines via photos. Hannah Astarita is zipping (albeit slowly) around campus in a golf cart:

Hello! My name is Hannah Astarita and I am a Junior in Event Management. This summer, I have been working on campus as a conference manager, and it has kept me very busy. No day looks the same, and that’s the way I like it. My job is to work with conferences who come to Iowa State and need somewhere to stay. I collaborate with sponsors to meet the needs specified in their contract. Then I arrange all the details with our staff, custodial, facilities, dining, Residence Life staff, and more. Our staff includes a Conference Coordinator, a Conference Clerk, 6 Conference Managers, and 18 Summer Conference Staff. The other Conference Managers and I interviewed, hired, trained, and supervised the 18 Summer Conference Staff. Being on the other side of an interview gave me a very interesting perspective, so if you ever need some pointers, let me know! 🙂 I have worked with all kinds of conferences from sports camps to research groups, and anything in between. Some other big conferences that our team works with are Special Olympics Iowa, 4-H, and Orientation.

Other than working with conferences, I have some specific lead positions that I am in charge of. The most time consuming lead I have is working with keys on the UDA side of campus. Every guest who stays with us needs a keycard and a key. We had to prep it all at the beginning of summer just like we will tear it down at the end of summer. In between I have to handle key problems such as lost keys, broken keys, lock changes, etc. Other lead positions I have are supervising the Martin Conference Desk, cash accounting on the UDA side of campus, and working with Long Term Academic Programs in Eaton.

My three favorite parts about the job are the people, the flexibility, and the golf carts! I have gotten to know so many new people and have even made a new best friend out of it. I get excited to go to work because the atmosphere is so positive and the staff is excellent. Being a manager, I get the flexibility to choose my hours, and I have a lot of freedom to doing things when I want. Lastly, I love the golf carts we use to get around campus! They may be slow and loud, but it’s a nice break in our day and is just a fun way to get around. I had never driven a golf cart before, but somehow that became my job to train all the staff on how to use it. I think it turned out well…

Since I ride golf carts around campus, I still need to get my exercise in other ways. I have really been into biking this summer. My mom and I ride all around the trails in the Slater area, and I go to cycling classes at the gym. I have also been trying to train for a half marathon since my sister has that on her bucket list. It’s not something I really want to do, but my sister and I always run together, so I might as well! I’m hoping that saying this publicly will keep me motivated, but we’ll see!

The other CM’s and I. From the left: Ha, me, Kelsey, Mary, Emily, and Amanda. We all get along really well and are willing to help each other out. Ha and I share an office and have become really good friends.

 

This is our 18 Summer Conference Staff. I work with them on a daily basis and have had fun getting to know them all.

 

This is my messy desk. I decided to leave it messy for this picture so everyone could see my natural habitat. I’ve really been into yellow and pineapple this summer, as you can see! My office is in the basement of Friley.

I am writing this in the car right now on the way back from Connecticut. We do this 21-hour road trip to Connecticut every year to see family since that is where my dad is from. This has been my one vacation of summer, and when I get back, I will only have one more month of work/summer. Below is a picture of some me with some cousins who I only see once a year.

Before classes start again, I still want to rent a canoe or kayak from Rec Services because it is only $10 for the whole day! I can’t believe I didn’t know that, so I am ready to take advantage of this great deal. I also still want to go to the drive in movie theater, so hopefully I get that done! Some other things that I have done this summer include going to the Des Moines Art Festival, shopping at the Des Moines Farmer’s Market, and attempting an Escape Room.

My mom, me, my older sister Molly, and my dad at the Art Festival. It was my first time going, and I loved it! It felt like an outdoor museum, and it was beautiful outside!

 

Jim, me, Matt, and Rebecca all tried an escape room. We got stuck on the last part, but we think if we weren’t paired with four other random people we could have made it…next time!

Lastly, I told my friend, Ellen Meis, that I would give LeMars, Iowa a shout out since her hometown is the ice cream capital of the world. For those of you who don’t know, LeMars is home to Blue Bunny Ice Cream, and it’s great. I went there to visit Ellen over spring break, and then I went again this summer because I was going to a friend’s wedding in Sioux Center. The parlor was a great pit stop for a pre-wedding snack. If you are ever in the area, I would highly recommend going! If not, you can do what I normally do and stock your freezer full of their ice cream. 🙂

Mary and I at my friend Taylor’s wedding in Sioux Center. We all became friends in my event management orientation class freshman year.

Well that’s pretty much my summer! Is anyone else ready for the fall on campus? Because I am…see you all soon!

Leave a Reply

